America’s Top 31 Educators: Call for Nominations

Share Article

Academy of Education Arts and Sciences begins search for the best-in-category across the education field.

Today, the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences, comprised of 157 of the nation’s most prominent education leaders, put out a call for nominations for the 2012 Bammy Awards honoring excellence in education across 31 categories in the education field. Based on the notion that it takes a village to raise a child, the Academy is hosting the Bammy Awards to identify, recognize and celebrate excellence in education throughout the entire field -- from teachers, principals and superintendents to school nurses, support staff, advocates, researchers, early childhood specialists, education journalists, school facilities maintenance staff, special needs professionals, school board members, education school professors, parents and more.

The Bammy Awards were created in response to the tremendous national pressure on educators and education leaders to improve student outcomes and the intense scrutiny that today's educators face as a result. The Bammy Awards acknowledge that teachers can't educate children alone and don't do it alone. The awards aim to foster cross-discipline recognition for the vital role played by every member of the education village, encourage collaboration and respect across the various domains, elevate education and education successes in the public eye, and raise the profile and voices of the many undervalued and unrecognized people who are making a difference in the field every day.

Nominations are now being accepted on line at The deadline for nominations ends April 30th.

There will be two honors presented in every category -- the Bammy Award and the Educator's Voice Award. Members of the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences select the winners of the Bammy Awards. However, the online education community will determine the winners of the Educator's Voice Award by public voting on the Bammy Awards web site.

The Educator’s Voice honorees will be announced in June. The Bammy Awards will be presented at a red-carpet awards event in Washington, D.C., that will bring together constituents from the entire education community to recognize the honorees.

Academy judges include a profoundly eclectic cadre of persons involved in education, including Betsy Landers, president of the National PTA; Ken Griffith, president of the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP); Andrew J. Rotherham, a co-founder of Bellwether Education and former Special Assistant to the President for Domestic Policy during the Clinton administration; Victoria Risko, president of the International Reading Association (IRA); Jim Kohlmoos, executive director of the National Association of State Boards of Education (NASBE); John Merrow, former host of PBS NewsHour; E. Lander Medlin, executive vice-president of APPA, the association of school facilities administrators; and Dr. Lillian Katz, an international leader in early childhood education.

"High-quality education is only possible when a wide range of professionals work together to create coherent systems to serve our students. The Bammy Awards are the first interdisciplinary effort to celebrate our most dedicated and exemplary peers in all parts of the education profession, and I am excited about the greater awareness of our interdependence that this effort will promote," said Justin Baeder, Eduleadership, and charter member of the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences, Council of Peers.
For more information go to

Bammy Awards
Jeannette Bernstein


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jeannette Bernstein
Visit website