ZOVA Books Releases Jessica Therrien's Debut YA Novel "Oppression"

Share Article

ZOVA Books, a publishing firm in Los Angeles, releases Jessica Therrien’s “Oppression” on February 28, 2012.

News Image
Jessica Therrien has this incredible ability to reach a wide variety of readers, from romance lovers to fans of dystopian fiction. ‘Oppression’ is a wonderful set-up to a highly-anticipated series.

Jessica Therrien is releasing the first title in her “Children of the Gods” paranormal romance and adventure series. “Oppression” is the first of three books in the series published by ZOVA Books, a mid-sized publishing firm based in the Los Angeles area. The novel combines traditional Greek mythology with contemporary young adult fiction in a narrative that will appeal to fans of “Twilight” and “The Hunger Games.”

ZOVA Books has established themselves as a premier mid-sized publisher of genre and literary fiction, representing such bestselling novelists as “Dances With Wolves” author and Academy Award winning screenwriter, Michael Blake; Pulitzer Prize nominee for “Sacajawea,” Anna Lee Waldo; and current Wall Street Journal bestselling author A.K. Alexander. ZOVA was first introduced to Therrien’s work at a writers’ conference in San Diego in early 2011. Since then, ZOVA has established her as the first in their catalog of young adult fiction.

“We have been looking to develop our children’s and young adult catalog, not simply because it’s a strong market in the book industry, but most of all because it’s an audience we deeply care about,” says ZOVA publisher Molly Lewis. “Jessica Therrien has this incredible ability to reach a wide variety of readers, from romance lovers to fans of dystopian fiction. ‘Oppression’ is a wonderful set-up to a highly-anticipated series.”

“Oppression” puts a new spin on traditional Greek mythology, combining a unique coming-of-age story with an introduction to an X-Men-like universe. The book follows the character Elyse as she realizes that she is not alone in the world. There are others like her, people with unusually long life-spans and special abilities. It’s the start of a new life for her, one where her choices will have far-reaching consequences, not just for herself but potentially for the whole world.

Jessica Therrien has established herself as one of the most highly anticipated novelists of the year, winning a number of awards for her flash fiction and breaking numerous rankings on both Goodreads and Amazon. Her work is represented for film and television rights by Circle of Confusion. Foreign rights of “Oppression” are represented by Whitney Lee of The Fielding Agency.

ZOVA Books is actively developing its catalog of children’s fiction, both for middle grade and young adult readers, with such releases as Clive London’s “Prince Albert and the Doomsday Device,” which received a Kirkus starred review and was recently listed among Kirkus’ New and Notable Fiction list, and Jessica Therrien’s young adult paranormal romance novel, “Oppression.”

"Oppression" is distributed through Baker & Taylor and available for sale with Amazon, Barnes & Noble and wherever fine books are sold.

For media and rights inquiries and interviews, please contact Molly Lewis at ZOVA Books.

About ZOVA Books:

ZOVA Books is a publishing firm located in Los Angeles, California that publishes genre fiction titles, including works by New York Times #1 bestselling authors Michael Blake (“Dances With Wolves,” “The Holy Road,” “Into The Stars”) and Anna Lee Waldo (“Sacajawea,” “Watch the Face of the Sky”), as well as screenwriter and children’s book author Adam Kline and illustrator Brian Taylor (“Escape from Hat”), Kirkus Star recipient Clive London (“Prince Albert and the Doomsday Device”) and internal bestselling author Michele Scott (aka A.K. Alexander). ZOVA Books’ film, television and foreign rights are managed by Hollywood production and management company Circle of Confusion.

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Matthew Pizzo