The Strand Critics Nominees are Announced: Joseph Wambaugh and John Sandford Win Lifetime Achievement Awards

Share Article

Michael Connelly for the fourth time in four years is nominated for best novel. Joseph Wambaugh and John Sandford will be awarded with lifetime achievement awards.

The Strand Magazine has announced its nominees for the 2011 Strand Magazine Critics Awards. Recognizing excellence in the field of mystery fiction, the Critics Awards were judged by a select group of book critics and journalists, from news venues such as USA Today, LA Times, Chicago Tribune, and several other daily papers.

For the fourth time in as many years bestselling author Michael Connelly was nominated for best novel (The Drop). The rest of the nominees Lee Child, Joseph Finder, P.D. James, and George Pelecanos are making their debut as best novel finalists.

Also, Joseph Wambaugh and John Sandford will be given The Strand’s Lifetime Achievement award for excellence in crime and thriller writing. Wambaugh has achieved worldwide fame for bestselling novels such as The New Centurions (1971), Blue Knight (1972), and is credited with transforming the police drama genre into serious literature. John Sandford with scores of novels in the space of nearly a quarter of a century, he stands out as one of the most successful thriller writers in the world. His novels have been translated into more than thirty languages and consistently hit the bestseller’s lists.

Best First Novel:
The Hypnotist Lars Kepler (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
Sister by Rosamund Lupton (Crown)
Before I Go to Sleep by S.J. Watson (Harper)
The Boy in the Suitcase by Lene Kaaberbøl and Agnete Friis (Soho)
The Poison Tree by Erin Kelly (Pamela Dorman Books)

Best Novel
The Affair by Lee Child (Delacorte Press)
The Drop by Michael Connelly (Little, Brown and Company)
Buried Secrets by Joseph Finder (St Martin’s Press)
Death Comes to Pemberley by P.D. James (Knopf)
The Cut by George Pelecanos (Reagan Arthur Books)

Lifetime Achievement awards
Joseph Wambaugh
John Sandford

"This year’s awards are set for a tight finish, many of the judges were nearly unanimous in what they thought were their top ten books," said Andrew F. Gulli, the managing editor of The Strand. "The second round of voting should be very interesting."

The awards will be presented at an invitation-only cocktail party, hosted by The Strand on July 11, 2012, in New York City.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Andrew Gulli
The Strand Magazine
(248) 569-3503
Email >
Visit website