International Writers of the Future 28th Anniversary Set for Live Internet Broadcast Worldwide

Share Article

Twenty-five year time capsule to be opened with predictions to question “What will life be like in 2012?” at this year's Writers and Illustrators of the Future Awards Ceremony.

L. Ron Hubbard Awards Ceremony broadcast live on internet for all to watch.

YouTube Video Invitation to Writers of the Future Awards Ceremony streaming live on internet. Watch the event from anywhere in the world!

Streaming will be live from where a special link will be set up.

The L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards ceremony, celebrating its 28th anniversary of the internationally-acclaimed Writers of the Future Contest and its companion Illustrators of the Future Contest, will be broadcast on Sunday, April 15th, 6:30 pm (Pacific), to a worldwide audience via Internet, it was announced today. See video invite. Streaming will be live from where a special link will be set up.

“This annual ceremony for new writers and illustrators of science fiction and fantasy is such a moving experience that we wanted all speculative fiction fans everywhere and the friends and families of this year’s winners to witness it,” said Joni Labaqui, the Contests’ director.

The evening ceremony will be held before a packed hall of invited guests, celebrities, and many of speculative fiction’s most popular writers and illustrators at the renowned Wilshire Ebell Theater in Los Angeles.

In addition to the annual winner’s of the writer and illustrator contests being broadcast, this year will see the opening of a time capsule, sealed 25 years ago, which has predictions from such notable science fiction writers as Isaac Asimov, Algis Budrys, Orson Scott Card, Larry Niven, Frederik Pohl, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert Silverberg, Jack Williamson, Gene Wolfe and Roger Zelazny, along with newcomer Dave Wolverton, that year’s grand prize winning writer. Top scientists with their look into the future include Nobel Prize winner in Physics, Sheldon Glaskow, and Columbia University physicist, Gerald Feinberg.

As the top names in the science fiction and fantasy world, Contest judges will be on hand to present the annual awards to this year’s writer and illustrator winners as well as the grand prize winner for each contest. Writer judges who will be attending include: Kevin J. Anderson, Gregory Benford, Eric Flint, Nina Kiriki Hoffman, Dr. Yoji Kondo, Rebecca Moesta, Larry Niven, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Mike Resnick, Kristine Kathryn Rusch, Robert J, Sawyer, Dean Wesley Smith, Sean Williams and Dave Wolverton. Illustrator judges will include: Robert Castillo, Stephen Hickman, Ron Lindahn, Val Lakey Lindahn, Gary Meyer and Cliff Nielsen.

Every quarter, three writers and three illustrators are selected by a panel of leading authors and artists of science fiction and fantasy. With no entry fee and judging done on an anonymous basis, the criterion is strictly merit. Beside first time publication, benefits include over $30,000 in cash prizes and royalties, a week-long workshop with top professionals of the genre as well as book signings, radio and TV interviews organized by the contest administrators to assist the winners in launching their careers.

For more information, on the Contests, go to You can see last year’s awards ceremony at and click on “2011 Awards Ceremony-Vol XXVII.”
Please note, this is a live broadcast, so check your time zone for when it will show in your location.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

John Goodwin
Galaxy Press
(323) 466-7815
Email >
Visit website