National Landmark, Arena Stage, Chosen for Education’s First Annual Cross-discipline Bammy Awards

Share Article

Academy of Education Arts and Sciences to present 2012 honors for excellence in education at iconic Washington D.C. cultural center.

Today, the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences, comprised of 162 of the nation’s most prominent education leaders, announced that national landmark, Arena Stage, will be the venue for the first annual Bammy Awards. The first inter-disciplinary 2012 Bammy Awards will be presented on September 15th and will honor excellence across 31 categories in the education field. Based on the notion that it takes a village to raise a child, the Academy is hosting the honors to identify, recognize and celebrate excellence in education throughout the entire field -- from teachers, principals and superintendents to school nurses, support staff, advocates, researchers, early childhood specialists, education journalists, school facilities maintenance staff, special needs professionals, school board members, education school professors, parents and more. The red carpet event will include a VIP reception after the awards presentations, where Academy members and this year’s honorees will mingle and be available for interviews and photographs with their awards.

The venerable Arena Stage is an historic cultural icon in Washington, D.C., that recently received a $135 million makeover and now rivals the Kennedy Center as a venue for special events. The bold, dramatic and elegant building is a state-of-the-art complex that has been a called a “must-see” stop for visitors to the nation’s capital. The Center was selected in part because it shares with the Academy an ambitious and potentially transformative vision for the future.

"I know it does, indeed, take the entire village to raise a child. When the entire community is engaged as the educational community, amazing learning and student achievement takes place. In a time when American education is constantly under fire, recognizing excellence is critical. We need to embrace every opportunity we have to inform the public sentiment about what is good in education today. Abraham Lincoln said, ‘Public sentiment is everything. With public sentiment, nothing can fail; without it nothing can succeed.’ I am sure the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences, with cross-discipline recognition of excellence in the Bammy Awards, will be informing the public sentiment," said Ken Griffith, president of the National Association of Secondary School Principals.

The Bammy Awards were created in response to the tremendous national pressure on educators and education leaders to improve student outcomes and the intense scrutiny that today's educators face as a result. The Bammy Awards acknowledge that teachers can't educate children alone and don't do it alone. The awards aim to foster cross-discipline recognition for the vital role played by every member of the education village, encourage collaboration and respect across the various domains, elevate education and education successes in the public eye, and raise the profile and voices of the many undervalued and unrecognized people who are making a difference in the field every day.

Nominations are now being accepted on line at The deadline for nominations ends April 30th.

There will be two honors presented in every category -- the Bammy Award and the Educator's Voice Award. Members of the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences select the winners of the Bammy Awards. However, the online education community will determine the winners of the Educator's Voice Award by public voting on the Bammy Awards web site.

The Educator’s Voice honorees will be announced in June. The Bammy Awards will be presented at the September red-carpet event that will bring together constituents from the entire education community to recognize the honorees.

Academy judges include a profoundly eclectic cadre of persons involved in education, including Caroline Hendrie, executive director of the Education Writers Association; Dr. Anne L. Bryant, executive director of the National School Boards Association; Gayle C. Manchin, president of the National Association of State Boards of Education and former first lady of West Virginia; Keith R. Krueger, CEO of the Consortium for School Networking; John D. Musso executive director of the Association of School Business Officials International; Yasmina Vinci, executive director of the National Head Start Association; Paula A. Cordeiro, dean of the School of Leadership and Education Sciences at the University of San Diego; and Rick Hess of the American Enterprise institute.

Follow the nomination process on Twitter at @bammyawards or visit us on Facebook at

Bammy Awards
Jeannette Bernstein

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jeannette Bernstein
Visit website