Time Capsule to be Opened at L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards: “What will life be like in 2012?” – Did they predict peace or a world torn by war?

Share Article

Predictions to be unveiled from famous science fiction writers and scientists as Writers of the Future Volume 28 is released.

Isaac Asimov, Gene Wolfe, Robert Silverberg, Roger Zelazny and Larry Niven at Writers of the Future panel.

The 1987 Writers of the Future panel with Isaac Asimov, Gene Wolfe, Robert Silverberg, Roger Zelazny and Larry Niven.

Did they predict a peaceful future or a world torn by war and economic ruin?

Famous writers of science fiction and award winning scientists placed their future vision in a time capsule in April of 1987 at the Writers of the Future Awards Ceremony to be opened in April 2012. Predictions for the question, “What will life be like in 2012?” will be unveiled at the awards ceremony taking place at the Wilshire Ebell Theatre on April 15. Did they predict a peaceful future or a world torn by war and economic ruin?

Conceived by L. Ron Hubbard to provide a means for the aspiring writer or artist to have his works seen and acknowledged, the Writers of the Future has proven itself to be every bit a successful launching pad now with over 650 writers and artists having walked on stage to be recognized.

With predictions from famous authors such as Isaac Asimov, Algis Budrys, Orson Scott Card, Larry Niven, Frederik Pohl, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert Silverberg, Jack Williamson, Gene Wolfe, Dave Wolverton and Roger Zelazny, along with Nobel Prize winner in Physics, Sheldon Glashow, and Columbia University physicist, Gerald Feinberg, it will be interesting to learn if they foresaw a utopian or dystopian future.

The event takes place at 6:30 PM on April 15, 2012 at the historic Wilshire Ebell Theatre, Los Angeles, CA. Each writing and illustrating contest winner will be presented their trophy by contest judges at the ceremony and receive combined cash prizes and royalties of over $30,000. The time capsule will be opened and the entire contents displayed for all to see following the ceremony. RSVP to contests(at)authorservicesinc(dot)com or call 323-466-3310.

The Writers of the Future writing contest (http://www.writersofthefuture.com) was initiated by L. Ron Hubbard in 1983 to provide a means for aspiring writers to get that much-needed break. Due to the success of the Writing Contest, the companion Illustrators of the Future Contest was created in 1988.

The intensive mentoring process has proven very successful. Past winners of the Writing Contest have published over 750 novels, 3,500 short stories and winners of the Illustrating Contest have had their art published in more than 500 books and magazines, with 4,500 illustrations, 350 comics and over 1.3 million art prints.

For more information go to http://www.writersofthefuture.com or http://www.facebook.com/WritersAndIllustratorsOfTheFuture
To see the awards ceremony online, go to http://www.youtube.com/writersofthefuture

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

John Goodwin
Galaxy Press
(323) 466-7815
Email >
Visit website