What do the Sinking of the Titanic, Income Tax and Writers of the Future Have in Common?

Share Article

This year's Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests mark the 28th anniversary of these internationally acclaimed events

The 28th Annual L. Ron Hubbard Achievement awards will honor this year's winners in the L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests

While April 15 marks the 100th anniversary for the sinking of the Titanic, and the last day for filing taxes, it is also the date when the 24 winners of the L. Ron Hubbard Writers and Illustrators of the Future Contests will receive their awards at a gala black tie ceremony at the historic Wilshire Ebell Theatre.

The L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards ceremony, celebrating its 28th anniversary of the internationally-acclaimed Writers of the Future Contest and its companion Illustrators of the Future Contest, will take place on Sunday, April 15th, 6:30 pm (Pacific). It will also be broadcast to a worldwide audience via Internet, streaming live from http://www.writersofthefuture.com where a special link will be set up.

The evening ceremony will be held before a packed hall of invited guests, celebrities, and many of speculative fiction’s most popular writers and illustrators. Participating in the ceremony will be movie and television celebrities including Marisol Nichols, ABC’s “G.C.B.”; Nancy Cartwright, voice Bart Simpson; Phil Proctor, voice of Howard on Rugrats and Bob the Seahorse in Finding Nemo; John Mariano, voice of pigeon Bobby on Animaniacs, along with best-selling authors Kevin J. Anderson (Dune prequels), Larry Niven (Ringworld), Jerry Pournelle (A Mote in God’s Eye), Tim Powers (On Stranger Tides, which Pirates of the Caribbean IV was based on), Robert Sawyer, referred to as Canada’s Dean of Science Fiction; and Sean Williams, Australia’s #1 New York Times bestselling sf author, who will all serve as presenters.

In addition to the annual winner’s of the writer and illustrator contests being broadcast, this year will see the opening of a time capsule, sealed 25 years ago, which has predictions from such notable science fiction writers as Isaac Asimov, Algis Budrys, Orson Scott Card, Larry Niven, Frederik Pohl, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert Silverberg, Jack Williamson, Gene Wolfe and Roger Zelazny, along with newcomer Dave Wolverton, that year’s grand prize winning writer. Top scientists with their look into the future include Nobel Prize winner in Physics, Sheldon Glashow, and Columbia University physicist, Gerald Feinberg.

Every quarter, three writers and three illustrators are selected by a panel of leading authors and artists of science fiction and fantasy. With no entry fee and judging done on an anonymous basis, the criterion is strictly merit. Beside first time publication, benefits include over $30,000 in cash prizes and royalties, a week-long workshop with top professionals of the genre as well as book signings, radio and TV interviews organized by the contest administrators to assist the winners in launching their careers.

For more information, on the Contests, go to http://www.writersofthefuture.com. You can see last year’s awards ceremony at http://www.youtube.com/writersofthefuture and click on “2011 Awards Ceremony-Vol XXVII.”

All guests to the awards ceremony must RSVP for admission by calling 323-466-3310 or email contests(at)authorservicesinc(dot)com.

Please note, this is a live broadcast, so check your time zone for when it will show in your location.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

John Goodwin
Visit website