National Associated General Contractors (AGC) Names 35 Firms As Nation’s Safest Construction Companies of 2011

Share Article

Contracting Firms Receive AGC's Construction Safety Excellence Awards at National Conference (Released by Straub Construction, Inc. [Fallbrook, CA] with permission from AGC)

Kevin Soares, Corporate Safety Officer at Straub Construction, Inc. of Fallbrook, CA, accepts the National AGC Construction Safety Excellence Award (Second Place) at the annual AGC National Conference in Honolulu, HI.

“Firms like these are setting the highest standard of safety for the construction industry,” said Kristine Young, the association’s past president and the CEO of Des Moines, Iowa-based Miller the Driller.

The Associated General Contractors of America named 35 firms as the nation’s safest construction companies. The association, which oversees the Construction Safety Excellence Awards, an annual ranking of construction safety programs, noted that these companies were recognized for the strength of their safety programs and their overall safety performance during 2011.

“Firms like these are setting the highest standard of safety for the construction industry,” said Kristine Young, the association’s past president and the CEO of Des Moines, Iowa-based Miller the Driller. “These firms have found a way to make every single employee a zealous advocate for workplace safety.”

Young said that these companies were selected because of their strong commitment to safety. She noted that the companies were dedicated to the development and implementation of premier safety and loss prevention programs. The companies also demonstrated outstanding leadership in safety and occupation health management, risk control, safety training, work site hazard identification and control, and safety program innovation.

The following companies received first place for their safety programs: Wildish Construction Co. of Eugene, Ore.; Flatiron Construction Corp. of Firestone, Colo.; J. Banicki Construction, Inc. of Tempe, Ariz.; SEDALCO, Inc. of Fort Worth, Texas; Calcon Constructors, Inc. of Englewood, Calif.; Elford, Inc. of Columbus, Ohio; Jaynes Corporation of Albuquerque, N.M.; Donley’s Inc. of Cleveland, Ohio; Rudolph/Libbe Inc. of Walbridge, Ohio; JE Dunn Construction of Kansas City, Mo.; Cycle Construction Company, LLC of Kenner, La.; Kiewit Infrastructure West Co. of Fairfield, Calif.; PCL Construction of Denver, Colo.; Harper Construction Company of San Diego, Calif.; Austin Commercial LP of Dallas, Texas; Underground Construction Company of Benicia, Calif.; NCM Contracting Group, LP of Snoqualmie, Wash.; WB Moore Company of Charlotte, Inc. of Charlotte, N.C.; L.P.R. Construction Co. of Loveland, Colo.; and Sturgeon Electric Company, Inc. of Henderson, Colo.

Young noted that there are multiple winners because the awards are distributed for a number of categories, based on the size of the company, the amount of work performed and the type of work performed. She added that the Construction Safety Excellence Award winners are selected by a panel of five independent safety professionals within the government, corporate and insurance industries. Final judging for the awards program took place during last week’s annual convention for the contractors’ association.

In addition to the first place winners, the following companies won second place: Guy F. Atkinson Construction LLC of Renton, Wash.; Granite Construction, Inc. of Watsonville, Calif.; PBG Builders, Inc. of Goodlettsville, Tenn.; Straub Construction, Inc. of Fallbrook, Calif.; T.B. Penick & Sons, Inc. of San Diego, Calif.; HMH Builders, Inc. of Sacramento, Calif.; Swinerton Builders, Inc. of Concord, Calif.; Missouri Valley, Inc. of Amarillo, Texas; Coastal Construction Group of South Florida of Miami, Fla.; Fiore & Sons, Inc. of Denver, Colo.; and Baker Concrete Construction, Inc. of Monroe, Ohio.

Young added that firms like these were playing a key role in helping improve the overall safety of the construction industry. She noted that thanks in part to their efforts, the number of construction fatalities has fallen by over 40 percent during the past five years alone. The association official added that the example these firms were setting would help the broader industry continue to improve workplace safety.

And the following companies were awarded third place for the quality of their safety programs: Tyler Lane Construction, Inc. of Chicago, Ill.; Caddell Construction Co., Inc. of Montgomery, Ala.; Syblon Reid of Folsom, Calif.; and Perini Management Services, Inc. of Framingham, Mass.    

Straub Construction is an award-winning general contractor specializing in design-build and construction management services. The company has provided comprehensive services to support public construction programs for clients in California, Nevada and Arizona and has always maintained a reputation for excellence throughout its 30 year history. The company is currently located at 202 West College, Fallbrook, CA 92028. Corporate Office: (760) 414-9000, fax (760) 414-9100.

(Reposted by Straub Construction with Permission from AGC)

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Susan Cope
Visit website