International Writers of the Future 28th Anniversary Set for Live Internet Broadcast Worldwide

Share Article

Awards Ceremony to be streamed live from site Sunday, April 21, at 6:30 PM (Pacific time)

Video invite to Writers of the Future Awards Ceremony where event will be streaming live. Watch from anywhere in the world!

Awards Ceremony to be streamed live from site Sunday, April 21, at 6:30 PM (Pacific time)

The L. Ron Hubbard Achievement Awards ceremony, celebrating its 28th anniversary of the internationally-acclaimed Writers of the Future Contest and its companion Illustrators of the Future Contest, will be broadcast on Sunday, April 15th, 6:30 pm (Pacific), to a worldwide audience via Internet. Streaming will be live from where a special link will be set up. NOTE: Be sure to check your time zone for when this will air.

The evening ceremony will be held before a packed hall of invited guests, celebrities, and many of speculative fiction’s most popular writers and illustrators at the renowned Wilshire Ebell Theater in Los Angeles.

The Awards celebration will begin with an epic, theatrical show piece featuring Broadway star, James Barbour, and radio personality, Kerri Kasem, along with 30 other performers. The number was created by Broadway composer/lyricist, Raven Kane and arranger/composer David Campbell whose work is featured on over 40 Grammies and 2 Oscars.

Also participating in the ceremony will be movie and television celebrities including Marisol Nichols, who plays Heather Cruz in ABC’s “G.C.B.”; Kristin Bauer van Straten, star of HBO's "True Blood”; Karen Black, “Easy Rider” and “Five Easy Pieces”; Nancy Cartwright, voice Bart Simpson; Phil Proctor, voice of Howard on “Rugrats” and Bob the Seahorse in “Finding Nemo”; John Mariano, voice of pigeon Bobby on “Animaniacs”; along with best-selling authors Kevin J. Anderson, Dune prequels; Larry Niven, Ringworld; Jerry Pournelle, A Mote in God’s Eye; Tim Powers, On Stranger Tides, which Pirates of the Caribbean IV was based on; Robert Sawyer, referred to as Canada’s Dean of Science Fiction; and Sean Williams, Australia’s #1 New York Times bestselling sf author, who will all serve as presenters to the 12 writer and 12 illustrator winners.

In addition to the annual winner’s of the writer and illustrator contests being broadcast, this year will see the opening of a time capsule, sealed 25 years ago, which has predictions from such notable science fiction writers as Isaac Asimov, Algis Budrys, Orson Scott Card, Larry Niven, Frederik Pohl, Jerry Pournelle, Tim Powers, Robert Silverberg, Jack Williamson, Gene Wolfe and Roger Zelazny, along with newcomer Dave Wolverton, that year’s grand prize winning writer. Top scientists with their look into the future include Nobel Prize winner in Physics, Sheldon Glashow, and Columbia University physicist, Gerald Feinberg.

Every quarter, three writers and three illustrators are selected by a panel of leading authors and artists of science fiction and fantasy. With no entry fee and judging done on an anonymous basis, the criterion is strictly merit. Beside first time publication, benefits include over $30,000 in cash prizes and royalties, a week-long workshop with top professionals of the genre as well as book signings, radio and TV interviews organized by the contest administrators to assist the winners in launching their careers.

For more information, on the Contests, go to
Please note, this is a live broadcast, so check your time zone for when it will show in your location.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

John Goodwin
Galaxy Press
(323) 466-7815
Email >
Visit website