Announcing New Spark Design Awards for Green Transportation

Share Article

Spark Awards have launched a competition for sustainable transportation design. The first Call For Entry is active.

Spark:Mobility is for all major transportation modes and includes many entry categories.

The world's first green transportation design award, "Spark:Mobility" explores the universe of sustainable transportation systems. The competition's focus will be on designs that are “green,” and show a commitment to using natural resources efficiently. Spark will actively seek out and promote audacious designs and technologies that challenge the current state of the art.

Spark:Mobility is for all major transportation modes and includes many entry categories. If designers have a world-changing new car, system, aircraft, charging station or biofuel generator--entering this competition can help spark its success.

Many designers and organizers have dedicated their careers to building and promoting intelligent transportation systems. Spark intends to shine a light on those efforts and work, too. Spark Founder, Peter Kuchnicki, asked, "This is a new, Big Idea, so we'll need your help--and hopefully, participation. Please—spread the word to your friends and colleagues. We hope to see great designs in Spark:Mobility. We are accepting great design entries right now."

Entries into the Mobility competition will be judged according to two major criteria:
    -Does the design break new ground? Is it a significant advance?
    -Does the design enhance the quality of life and/or environment?

The 2012 Spark:Mobility Jury will be held at the famed automotive design school, College For Creative Studies in Detroit. The Jury and Board is composed of highly regarded international designers, editors and academics, including:

-Imre Molnar, Dean, College For Creative Studies (Jury Chair)
-Anne Asensio, 3DS, Dassault Systemes (former Design Director, General Motors)
-Christopher Chapman, Chief Designer, Hyundai Design North America
-Jean Jennings, Editor in Chief, Automobile Magazine
-Tom Matano, Executive Director, School of Industrial Design, Academy of Art University, (former Executive Director, Mazda Design)
-Dave Muyres, Director, Corporate Innovation Center, Johnson Controls Inc.
-Brent Oppenheimer, Principal, O+CO (Brand consultant on Acela Trains)
-Phil Patton, Automotive & Design Journalist, Associate Professor, School of Visual Arts
-Prof. Martin Smith, Chair, Industrial Design, The Hong Kong Polytechnic University
-Dan Sturges, Sustainable Transport Consultant (designer of the Neighborhood Electric Vehicle)
-Geoff Wardle, Director, Advanced Mobility Research, Art Center College
-Ryan Chin, Research Associate & PhD Candidate, MIT Media Lab

"Sustainable transportation must be thought of as an integrated system-- every vehicle relates to the others," said Chris Chapman of Hyundai. Anne Asensio, from Dassault, pointed out, "The bottom line-- we must sustain and nourish a very delicate thing--the quality of life. That is why this Mobility Design Award will be so important. It will find and encourage great new solutions."

The Spark Awards have been privileged to host many exciting transportation designs since we launched in 2006. This was, in no small part, the direct result of the sponsorship of Automobile Magazine and Jean Jennings, Editor in Chief. That early partnership also introduced us to Automobile’s Design Editor, Robert Cumberford. Robert chaired our mobility jury that first year, and they chose the concept Chevrolet Volt for the top Spark! Award. Now that concept is a reality.

Spark:Mobility is one of five Spark Design Awards. More information about this organization and these competitions can be found at

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Peter Kuchnicki
Visit website