New WCRI Webinar on Avoiding Litigation: What Employers, Insurers and State Workers' Compensation Agencies Can Do

Share Article

Employers, insurers and state workers’ compensation agencies can learn why injured workers seek legal counsel and how to reduce unnecessary litigation in the system at a webinar featuring the latest research on this contentious issue from the Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI).

People watching a WCRI webinar.

People watching a WCRI webinar.

Employers, insurers and state workers’ compensation agencies can learn why injured workers seek legal counsel and how to reduce unnecessary litigation in the system at a webinar featuring the latest research on this contentious issue from the Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI).

Workers’ attorneys argue that they help workers receive benefits that these workers would not be able to obtain themselves, help workers navigate a sometimes complex system, and protect workers from retaliation by the employer or insurer.

Advocates for employers and insurers contend that attorneys are involved more often than necessary, that workers can often receive the benefits they are entitled to without representation, and that attorneys may even reduce the total amount of benefits that workers take home.

Join us for a one-hour discussion Thursday, May 10, 2012 at pm ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, 10am PT), with the lead author of WCRI’s research on the subject – Bogdan Savych – as he discusses, as well as takes your questions, on the:

  •      Reasons why workers were more likely to seek attorneys; and
  •      Actions employers, claims organizations, and state agencies can take to reduce

     attorney involvement.

Click on the following link to register now: http://www.wcrinet.org/5.10.12_webbriefing_reg.html. Webinars are $35 for WCRI Members, $50 for Non-Members, and no charge for public official or members of the media.

UPCOMING WEBINARS:

     11am MT, 10am PT)

     Thursday, June 28, 2012 at 1pm ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, 10am PT)

     Wisconsin – Wednesday, July 11, 2012 at 1pm ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, 10am PT)

     ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, 10am PT)

ABOUT WCRI:

The Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) is an independent, not-for-profit research organization based in Cambridge, MA. WCRI is recognized as a leader in providing objective, credible, and high-quality information about public policy issues involving workers' compensation systems. WCRI's members include employers; insurers; governmental entities; managed care companies; health care providers; insurance regulators; state labor organizations; and state administrative agencies in the U.S., Canada, Australia and New Zealand. For more information about WCRI, visit: http://www.wcrinet.org.

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Andrew Kenneally
Workers Compensation Research Institute
617 661 9274 257
Email >
Visit website