Bryn Mawr Senior Named 2012 Presidential Scholar

Share Article

Amna Hashmi, a graduating senior at The Bryn Mawr School in Baltimore, MD, is one of only 141 students across the country to receive this honor.

News Image

Amna Hashmi, a graduating senior from The Bryn Mawr School

"In everything that she pursues, Amna brings a level of seriousness, enthusiasm and commitment. She is thoroughly deserving of this honor."

Amna Hashmi, a graduating senior at The Bryn Mawr School, has been named a 2012 Presidential Scholar. She is one of only 141 graduating high school seniors across the country—and one of only three from the state of Maryland—to receive this honor.

Hashmi, who will attend Harvard University in the fall, has attended Bryn Mawr since the third grade. In addition to her scholastic achievements, she is a student-athlete, playing on the Varsity Squash and Tennis teams, the latter of which she is the captain. She serves as Yearbook Editor, Editor-in-Chief of the student newspaper The Quill, President of the Debate Club, Captain of the Academic Team, and sings with the selective Upper School choral group Dayseye. She was also recently named a National Merit Scholar, and will receive a $2,500 scholarship for college.

“Amna is without question one of the finest students I have known in my 33 years of teaching,” said Headmistress Maureen E. Walsh. “In everything that she pursues, she brings a level of seriousness, enthusiasm and commitment. She is thoroughly deserving of this honor, and will make important contributions in the years to come.”

Inclusion in the U.S. Presidential Scholars Program is one of the highest honors bestowed upon graduating high school seniors. From approximately 3.2 million graduating seniors, 3,000 candidates were selected for their exceptional performance on the College Board SAT or the ACT Assessment. Further consideration was based on student essays, self-assessments, descriptions of activities, school recommendations, and school transcripts.

Secretary of Education Arne Duncan, announcing the Scholars on May 2, said, “Honoring Presidential Scholars is an important celebration of students showing the dedication, creativity and ambition to become future leaders. As national, state and local leaders work side by side with principals, teachers, and parents to make our schools better, we can learn from the students all around us whose hard work and accomplishments embody the kind of excellence we want every child to achieve."

The Commission on Presidential Scholars, a group of 32 eminent citizens appointed by the President, made the final selection of the Scholars. Scholars were selected on the basis of superior academic and artistic achievements, leadership qualities, strong character and involvement in the community and school activities. The Commission chose one young man and one young woman from each state, the District of Columbia, Puerto Rico, and U.S. students living abroad; 15 students-at-large, as well as 20 students from the creative and performing arts.

In the future, Hashmi hopes to pursue a career in global health and health policy. She is the daughter of Drs. Tazeen and Shoaib Hashmi of Cockeysville, Maryland.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Stacy Williams
Follow us on
Visit website


The Bryn Mawr School