Sustainability Leaders Awards - call for entries now open

Share Article

Entry for the 2012 Sustainability Leaders Awards, formerly the Awards for Environmental Excellence, organised by and Sustainable Business magazine is now open! Building on the success of the past five years, the edie Awards for Environmental Excellence are moving with the times. UK businesses have moved beyond narrow 'environmental' concerns and are working hard to embed sustainability throughout their operations.

The leading international sustainability awards scheme. Accredited by RSA and an official feeder scheme for the European Commission's EBAE awards.

To capture this change and celebrate just what it takes to be in the vanguard of sustainability, we have refreshed the award categories, teamed up with Sustainable Business magazine, and changed our name to bring you the new Sustainability Leaders Awards - the UK's premier awards event for those demonstrating leadership and innovation in sustainability in both the private and public sectors.

Like its predecessor, the Sustainability Leaders Awards remains one of the few environmental awards schemes accredited by the RSA as an official feeder scheme for the European Commission's EBAEs (European Business Awards for the Environment). This means our winners are deemed to be among the elite of UK award winners and, as such, have earned access to the European awards.

From energy-saving initiatives, water-saving projects, carbon-reduction and waste management to sustainability reporting, sustainability communications and stakeholder engagement, if your organisation is engaged with the sustainability agenda, there’s a category for you. And it isn’t just the work that we’ll be rewarding – it’s the people that made it happen too. So as well as entering your project or initiative we want to know about the personnel involved, both at a strategic and a practical level, for our Sustainability Leader and Sustainability Practitioner categories.

A full category list and judging criteria and the entry process are online at Deadline for entry, in the form of a 750-word case study submitted online, is June 15th.

Winners will be decided by a panel of the highest calibre, which will again be chaired by Environment Agency chairman Lord Smith. The judges currently comprise: Jonathon Porritt, environmentalist and founder director of Forum for the Future; Peter Jones OBE, founder director Ecolateral; Paul Scott,; Dr Peter Bonfield, chief executive of BRE; Liz Parkes, head of climate change, Environment Agency; Tom Stephenson, head of applied sciences, Cranfield University; Joanna Yarrow, director Beyond Green; Ed Gillespie, director of sustainable communication consultants Futerra.

Winners will be announced at a black-tie gala dinner on December 5th at London’s The Grange St Paul’s Hotel.
Enter online at:

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Will Parsons
Faversham House
+44(0)20 8651 7161
Email >
Follow us on
Visit website