Education, Motivation, Inspiration Core Focus of AACD’s 28th Annual Scientific Session

Share Article

Roughly 1,700 dental professionals were educated, motivated and inspired to take their dentistry to the next level during the AACD's 28th Annual Scientific Session.

More than 1,700 dental professionals gathered in Washington, DC May 2-5 for the AACD's 28th Annual Scientific Session.

Roughly 1,700 dental professionals worldwide gathered in Washington, DC, last week for the American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry’s (AACD) 28th Annual Scientific Session, where they were educated, motivated, and inspired to take their dentistry to the next level.

The conference, held May 2-5, offered attendees live learning through workshops and lectures. This year’s event, themed “Learn Outside the Lines,” also gave attendees the chance to be professionally encouraged through general sessions, including a clinical PowerSession featuring Drs. David Garber, Christian Coachman, and Eric Van Dooren. Other general sessions featured “Book of Awesome” author Neil Pasricha, and composer Eric Whitacre, well known for his virtual choir, “Sleep 2.0.”

New dental products, services, and innovations also debuted in this year’s exhibit hall through “Product Premiere,” a joint effort by the AACD and Dentalcompare.

At the Celebration of Excellence Gala May 5, the AACD showcased the achievements of its two newly Accredited Fellows, Drs. Susan Hollar and C. Lee Wyant, and 12 newly Accredited Members including:

  • David K. Chan, DMD
  • Todd L. Cochran
  • C Kent Decker, CDT
  • Chiann Fan Gibson, DMD
  • Gesica T. Horn, DDS
  • Phillip A. Kemp, DDS
  • Lonnie Lee, CDT
  • Rebecca K. Pitts, DMD (Accredited Laboratory Technician)
  • Lauren J. Shanard, DDS
  • Todd C. Snyder, DDS
  • Aliasger Tunkiwala, BDS, MDS
  • Ossie R. Vereen, CDT, MDT

Jason Olitsky, DMD, who became Accredited last year, but was unable to attend the previous session, was honored this year for his achievement.

Ron Goodlin, DDS, officially took the helm as president of the AACD. Jerry Woolf, DDS, is president-elect, and John Sullivan, DDS, is the immediate past president. During the Academy’s Annual Membership Meeting May 4, the AACD elected Jack Ringer, DDS, as vice president of the Academy.

Also during the session, several fundraisers for the AACD Charitable Foundation’s Give Back a Smile program generated more than $30,000 to help restore the smiles of survivors of intimate partner violence.

The AACD is currently ramping up for next year’s event, the 29th Annual Scientific Session, April 24-27, to be held in Seattle. Those interested in attending Seattle next year are encouraged to watch the AACD website and member communications for updates.

For a complete list of newly elected officers and award winners from Washington, DC, please visit the AACD website by clicking here.

About the AACD

The AACD is the world’s largest non-profit membership organization dedicated to advancing excellence in comprehensive oral care combining art and science to optimally improve dental health, function, and esthetics. Comprised of more than 6,300 cosmetic dental professionals in more than 70 countries around the globe, the AACD fulfills its mission by offering superior educational opportunities, promoting and supporting a respected credential, serving as a user-friendly and inviting forum for the creative exchange of knowledge and ideas, and providing accurate and useful information to the public and the profession.

For more information regarding the AACD, please visit, send an e-mail to pr(at)aacd(dot)com, or call 800.543.9220. To obtain photos of the 28th Annual AACD Scientific Session for your publication, e-mail: pr(at)aacd(dot)com.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Michael DiFrisco
American Academy of Cosmetic Dentistry
Email >
Visit website