Michigan (PRWEB) June 14, 2012
Prior to this change, the Michigan Residential Builders Laws and Rules states that applicants are required to, “submit evidence of good moral character, and financial stability.” Once the State of Michigan received a license application, they would pull a credit report on the applicant and the information on the report would be used as a determinant for approval. This step is no longer required.
So what is required to get a Michigan Builders or M&A Contractors License?
There are three major steps in getting licensed as a Michigan Residential Builder or M&A Contractor. The first step is to complete 60 hours of State approved prelicensure education and receive Certificates of Completion from the courses.
The second step is to mail the license application, certificates and licensing fee of $195 to the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs and wait about three weeks for approval.
The third and final step in the licensing process is to pass a State exam taken through PSI Examination Services. Applicants are not allowed to register for the exam until their application has been approved through the State of Michigan. The cost of the exam is $100 and consists of two parts: 50 questions on Business/Law and 100 questions on Building Trades/Practices.
The Builders License Training Institute, a Michigan licensed proprietary school and the leader in Michigan Builders Education, offers two ways to complete the State Approved 60-Hour Prelicensure Program: 1) Online with an HD Video Course where the student determines their own schedule, and 2) in a classroom with the six-day super fastrack course in over ten locations throughout the State. Once builders and contractors are licensed, the Builders License Training Institute has a variety of continuing competency courses for builders to fulfill renewal requirements. For more details or to get signed up for a course, call 1-800-727-7104 or go online to http://www.licensetobuild.com