New WCRI Webinar: Monitoring New York's Workers' Compensation System

Share Article

Join the Workers Compensation Research Institute’s (WCRI) Deputy Director and Counsel, Ramona Tanabe, on Thursday, July 19, 2012 at 1pm ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, 10am PT) for an hour-long discussion of WCRI’s ongoing research and monitoring of the 2007 regulatory changes to the New York workers’ compensation system.

People watching a WCRI webinar.

People watching a WCRI webinar.

This webinar will be helpful to public policymakers, employers, insurers and other stakeholders who are looking to better understand the performance of the New York workers’ compensation system following the implementation of major reforms.

Join the Workers Compensation Research Institute’s (WCRI) Deputy Director and Counsel, Ramona Tanabe, on Thursday, July 19, 2012 at 1pm ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, 10am PT) for an hour-long discussion of WCRI’s ongoing research and monitoring of the 2007 regulatory changes to the New York workers’ compensation system.

“This webinar will be helpful to public policymakers, employers, insurers and other stakeholders who are looking to better understand the performance of the New York workers’ compensation system following the implementation of major reforms,” said Ramona Tanabe, WCRI’s Deputy Director and Counsel.

WCRI’s research provides a basis for evaluating the effect of the regulatory changes to determine whether the changes were successful in their goals and to identify if any unintended consequences were observed. The major components of the 2007 regulatory changes were:

  • An increase in the maximum weekly benefit;
  • Caps on permanent partial disability duration;
  • Medical treatment guidelines to be created and implemented;
  • Adoption of a pharmacy fee schedule;
  • Creation of networks for diagnostic services, and thresholds for preauthorization; and
  • Administrative changes to increase speed of case resolution.

Register now by clicking on the following link: http://www.wcrinet.org/7.19.12_webbriefing_reg.html. Webinars are $35 for WCRI Members, $50 for Non-Members, and no charge for public officials or members of the media.

About WCRI:
The Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) is an independent, not-for-profit research organization based in Cambridge, MA. WCRI is a recognized leader in providing objective, credible, and high-quality information about public policy issues involving workers' compensation systems. WCRI's members include employers; insurers; governmental entities; managed care companies; health care providers; insurance regulators; state labor organizations; and state administrative agencies in the U.S., Canada, Australia and New Zealand. For more information about WCRI, visit our website: http://www.wcrinet.org.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Andrew Kenneally
Follow us on
Visit website