David Farland's Nightingale Wins 2012 Hollywood Book Festival

Share Article

David Farland's Nightingale novel beats all genre categories and claims Grand Prize at the Hollywood Book Festival.

News Image


A touching tale of the dreams and hopes of a young man abandoned at birth.

David Farland’s young adult fantasy thriller Nightingale (published by East India Press) won the grand prize for the 2012 Hollywood Book Festival, placing above all other books in all genres, both fiction and nonfiction. The Hollywood book festival honors books that the judges feel “merit further attention from filmmakers, television, and multi-media communities.”

Farland will be honored with his award and a cash prize in Hollywood on Saturday, July 21.
The novel, set in Utah, tells of sixteen-year-old Bron Jones, abandoned at birth and raised in foster care. Bron is kicked out of one home after another for being “too strange,” until he meets a marvelous teacher who recognizes that Bron isn’t even human. He’s what she calls a “nightingale,” a member of an ancient species left to be raised among mankind.

This news sends Bron on a quest to discover where he came from, how to use his unique abilities, and most importantly, precisely what he is. Sometimes, the truth is better left unknown.

The contest judges said, “Despite its fantastic premise, the book is a touching tale of the dreams and hopes of a young man abandoned at birth and making his way in the world.”

Although new to the book shelves, Nightingale has already received fantastic reviews. One reviewer stated that Nightingale is “High School Musical falls in love with Twilight and has Harry Potter babies,” a description that made Farland chuckle. “In some ways that’s so right, and in others it’s so wrong,” he says. “It isn’t quite like anything that I’ve read, though many reviewers are comparing it to Twilight and The Hunger Games. "

Recently, Nightingale also won the International Book Award for Best Young Adult novel of the year.

David Farland is the New York Times bestselling author of the Runelords fantasy series. He also wrote many other books in science fiction under the name Dave Wolverton.
He has worked with such major franchises as Star Wars, the Mummy, and Starcraft.
Farland has won several awards in the past, including the Philip K. Dick Memorial Special Award for Best Novel in the English Language (science fiction), and the Whitney Award for Best Novel of the Year (historical fiction).

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Kami McArthur
(435) 862-7485
Email >
Follow us on
Visit website