CableFAX Announces Its 2012 Top Ops

Share Article

Comcast Takes Home Operator of the Year; Wave Broadband Wins Independent Operator of the Year

“Our annual Top Ops recognizes the most innovative and competitive players in the industry, and each year we’re even more impressed by the operators that make it into this prestigious group,” said CableFAX Executive Editor, Michael Grebb.

After an extensive editorial search for the most innovative and competitive cable operators in the U.S., leading cable industry trade publication CableFAX has named Comcast and Wave Broadband as its Operator of the Year and Independent Operator of the Year, respectively. Both companies will be honored at CableFAX’s annual event at the W New York in Manhattan on Oct. 30, and the publication will also sing their praises in CableFAX: The Magazine’s July issue. To view the issue, click here:

“Our annual Top Ops recognizes the most innovative and competitive players in the industry, and each year we’re even more impressed by the operators that make it into this prestigious group,” said CableFAX Executive Editor Michael Grebb. “From independent operators that are doing more with less to the largest MSOs leading in areas like technology and strategy, CableFAX is always proud to highlight the best cable has to offer. Even more incredible is the industry’s continued commitment to community service and customer service, which have both become integral to cable’s business success.”

CableFAX editors also will present the Indie Op award to Wave Broadband during an awards dinner at the Independent Show on July 22-25 in Lake Buena Vista, FL. “Wave is honored to receive the award,” said Wave Broadband CEO Steve Weed. “This directly reflects the commitment of our entire team to provide superior products while creating an exceptional experience for customers. Wave’s employees, along with the support of our valued external partners, continue to make Wave one of the greatest companies in the industry.”

In addition, several other cable operators will pick up awards at CableFAX’s Oct. 30 event for categories including marketing, technology, finance, regional and local operations, strategy, customer and community service, and lifetime achievement. “We’re always impressed by the breadth of this industry’s talent and dedication—they set the standard for excellence in the industry,” commented Debbie Vodenos, Publisher of CableFAX. “It’s a reminder that cable remains a vibrant, entrepreneurial and competitive business that has years of growth ahead of it as operators expand multiplatform services and grow new areas like home automation, home security and commercial services. We can’t wait to see what’s next.” noted Grebb.

For questions regarding the CableFAX Program & Top Op Awards, contact Senior Marketing Manager Shannon Nelligan at snelligan(at)accessintel(dot)com. For sponsorship and advertising inquiries please contact Associate Publisher, Amy Abbey at (301) 354-1629; aabbey(at)accessintel(dot)com.

A complete listing of this year’s Top Ops Winners follows:

•MSO of the Year

•Independent Operator of the Year
    Wave Broadband

•MSO Customer Service Award
    Charter Communications

•MSO Community Service
    Suddenlink Communications

•MSO Executive to Watch
    Amalia O'Sullivan - Cablevision

•MSO Lifetime Achievement
    Robert Miron – Bright House Networks

•MSO Sales Team of the Year
    Time Warner Cable

•Leadership Award
    Jill Campbell – Cox Communications

•Project Launch of the Year
    Time Warner Cable - IntelligentHome

•Regional Executive of the Year
    LeAnn Talbot - Comcast

•Technology Executive of the Year
    Sree Kotay - Comcast

•Cable Lifetime Achievement
    Leslie H. Read – Ambassador, The Cable Center; Executive Director, Cable Pioneers

•Change Initiative of the Year
    Mediacom - Power to Simplify Initiative

•Independent Community Service Award
    Knology, Inc.

•Independent Customer Connection Award
    John Higginbotham, Superintendent - Frankfort Plant Board (Frankfort, KY)

•Independent Customer Service Award
    Armstrong Utilities

•Independent Financial Executive of the Year
    Steven Cochran - WideOpenWest, LLC

•Independent Lifetime Achievement
    Stan Searle

•Independent Marketer of the Year
    Royce Ard – Knology, Inc.

•Independent Project Launch of the Year

•Independent Strategic Thinker of the Year
    Bob Gessner - Massillon Cable TV

•Independent System Executive of the Year
    Scott Randall - CableONE

•Independent Technology Award

•Independent Technology Executive of the Year
    Al Kuolas - Atlantic Broadband

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Shannon Nelligan
Email >
Follow us on
Visit website