50 Shades of Blue: Award Winning Co-Author of The Erotica Project Releases Novel

Share Article

Announcing the release of THE BLUE HOURS, a new novel by acclaimed writer Lillian Ann Slugocki, now available as an e-book, published by Newtown Press.

The Blue Hours Cover Art

Cover Art: Jennifer Dopazo

The Blue Hours is a frankly sexual examination of a marriage and its discontents from the award-winning co-author of The Erotica Project.

Announcing the release of THE BLUE HOURS, a new novel by acclaimed writer Lillian Ann Slugocki, now available as an e-book, published by Newtown Press.

For readers of Anne Enright, Kathryn Harrison, and Catherine Texier, The Blue Hours is a frankly sexual examination of a marriage and its discontents from the award-winning co-author of The Erotica Project.

Eva and her husband were once passionate lovers, their relationship launched on the buoyant tide of youth, sex, and endless possibility. A decade later, as the marriage has turned cold and her husband begins an affair with a beautiful younger woman, Eva embarks on a series of passionate one-night stands of her own, both mystified and exhilarated by her reckless behavior. As the days grow shorter, she and her husband come together and grow apart, until her mother’s illness draws her home, to the place where her youthful sexuality first burgeoned, wild and threatening.

As she reflects on the mysterious ways that love and sex are intertwined, meditations composed during the strange and languid hours of early morning, she comes to understand the sources of her passion and possibly to imagine a way forward, as neither wife nor daughter but a woman confident in her own desires. By turns witty, explicit, and elegiac, The Blue Hours gives voice to hidden currents of female desire that readers will recognize as deeply felt but often unspoken.

About the Author:
Lillian Ann Slugocki has created an award-winning body of work on women and sexuality, including fiction, non-fiction, plays, and monologues that have appeared Off-Broadway, on NPR and WBAI radio, and online at Salon.com. Her work has been reviewed in The New York Times, The Village Voice, Art in America, The New Yorker, The Daily News, The New York Post, Time Out, The Guardian, The Daily Telegraph, The London Sunday Times, and Jezebel.

Her short erotic fiction has been published by Seal Press, Cleis Press, Heinemann Press, American Theatre magazine, fictionaut.com, and Beatrice.com among others. Her award-winning anthology, The Erotica Project, written in collaboration with Erin Cressida Wilson, was produced Off-Broadway at Joe’s Pub/The New York Shakespeare Festival, and later staged in San Francisco, Seattle, Charlottesville, and London. Lillian has also written on arts and culture for The City Room at nytimes.com, USAtoday.com, The Brooklyn Heights Blog and Dumbo NYC. She holds an MA in feminist theory from The Gallatin School at NYU.

From the Reviews of THE EROTICA PROJECT
by Lillian Ann Slugocki and Erin Cressida Wilson

“Poised between a pornographic pajama party and The Vagina Monologues… celebrates female sexuality in a series of guilt-free, exuberant fantasies.”

  • Time Out London

“The Erotica Project is not only on target, it redefines the target… Slugocki-Wilson & Co are determined to empower female heterosexual desire, making up for centuries of silence.”

  • Art in America

Publisher: Newtown Press

Cover Art: Jennifer Dopazo

Contact:
Deborah Oster Pannell
deborahosterpannell(at)gmail(dot)com
http://twitter.com/projectmaven
The Blue Hours on Facebook

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Deborah Oster Pannell
Follow us on