Sixteen Students Receive IEEE Computer Society Merwin Awards

Share Article

Up to 20 scholarships of $1,000 and up are available for one academic year for winners of the Merwin award.

Sixteen students from around the world will receive IEEE Computer Society Richard E. Merwin Awards in recognition of their academic achievement and involvement in a student chapter.

Up to 20 scholarships of $1,000 and up are available for one academic year for winners of the Merwin award. Winners also have the opportunity to serve as IEEE Computer Society Student Ambassadors for their particular IEEE region, collecting and disseminating information to student chapters and serving as a liaison between students in their region and the IEEE Computer Society Member and Geographic Activities Board (MGAB).

This year’s winners are:

  •     Josip Balen; J. J. Strossmayer University of Osijek, Croatia
  •     David Miguel dos Santos Dia; Instituto Superior Técnico, Tagus Park Campus, Portugal
  •     C.V. Farish; KMCT College of Engineering, Calicut, India
  •     Sneh Khathuria; Thadomal Shahani Engineering College, Mumbai, India
  •     Davor Karlovic; University of Rijeka, Rijeka, Croatia
  •     Teng Long; University of Electronic Science and Technology of China (UESTC)
  •     Shawn Nainan Mathew; Thadomal Shahani Engineering College, Mumbai, India
  •     Akshay Menon; KMCT College of Engineering, Calicut, India
  •     Zachary John Miller; University of Maryland, College Park, US
  •     Ajay Mohan; Rajiv Gandhi Inst. Of Technology, Kerala, India
  •     Michael Nachtigal; University of South Florida, Tampa, US
  •     Ramesh N. Nair; Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham University, Kerala, India
  •     Visakh Krishnan Nair; Thadomal Shahani Engineering College (TSEC), Mumbai, India
  •     Debdoot Sheet; Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur, India
  •     Yi Song; Beijing University of Posts and Telecommunications, China, and
  •     Cathy Wu; Massachusetts Institute of Technology; Cambridge, US.

To view the full list, visit

The Merwin award was created in honor of the late Richard E. Merwin, past president of the IEEE Computer Society, to recognize and reward active leaders in student branch chapters who show promise in their academic and professional efforts.

Applicants must have a minimum grade-point average of 2.5 over 4.0, and be a full-time student. Evaluation criteria include involvement in chapter activities (40 percent), academic achievement (30 percent), other extracurricular activities in college (10 percent), and a letter of evaluation by his or her branch chapter advisor (20 percent).

For further details on how to apply, visit

About the IEEE Computer Society

IEEE Computer Society is the world's leading computing membership organization and the trusted information and career-development source for a global workforce of technology leaders including: professors, researchers, software engineers, IT professionals, employers, and students. The unmatched source for technology information, inspiration, and collaboration, IEEE Computer Society is the source that computing professionals trust to provide high-quality, state-of-the-art information on an on-demand basis. IEEE Computer Society provides a wide range of forums for top minds to come together, including technical conferences, publications, and a comprehensive digital library, unique training webinars, professional training, and a Corporate Affiliate Program to help organizations increase their staff's technical knowledge and expertise. To find out more about the community for technology leaders, visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Margo McCall
Visit website