Educators, Thought Leaders, National Officials and Twitterati Heading to Washington D.C. for First “Cross-Discipline” Education Honors

Share Article

Inaugural Bammy Awards set to recognize excellence in education across the entire education village.

Today the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences announced program details on the inaugural annual Bammy Awards, recognizing excellence in education in 24 categories across the field. Set for September 15th at the landmark Arena Stage at the Mead Center in Washington D.C., educators of various stripes, including education thought leaders, teachers, principals, government officials, school nurses, education journalists, school board members, school facilities managers, education policy wonks, superintendents, PTA leaders, education school professors, child care directors and the education Twitterati, either will be presenting or receiving honors.

Over 400 prominent people in education have reserved seats at the event, among them prominent education professor Linda Darling-Hammond, former Assistant Secretary of Education Diane Ravitch, award-winning education reporter John Merrow, AFT president Randi Weingarten, U.S. Department of Education Deputy Assistant Secretary Jacqueline Jones, USA Today national education reporter Greg Toppo, and the executive directors of the nation’s leading education associations.

The inaugural Bammy awards will be co-hosted by Mark Ginsberg, Dean of the College of Education and Human Development at George Mason University and former executive director of the National Association for the Education of Young Children, along with Nelson Davis, four-time Emmy-winning broadcaster and board member of the Academy of Television Arts & Sciences Foundation.

The black-tie event promises to mix celebration, recognition of excellence, entertainment and high-spirited fun. Presenters and honorees will begin arriving on the red carpet at 6 p.m. The honors will begin at 7 p.m. and will include the presentation of 15 Bammy Awards and three lifetime achievement awards. Entertainment will be provided by 35 members of the Washington Metropolitan Philharmonic Youth Orchestra, nationally renowned poet Taylor Mali, a string quartet from the Youth Orchestras of Prince William and the comic genius of Jimmy Burns.

Bammy Award Signature Features

1.     Also referred to as the education village awards, the distinguishing characteristic of the Bammy Awards is its focus on the notion that “it takes a village to educate a child.” Consequently, the 15 presentations will primarily focus on the value and contribution of each discipline and specialty in the education community and honor the recipient as a standard bearer for that group.

2.    To add some fun and frivolity to the evening, all nominees have been challenged to demonstrate the “eloquence of brevity” by showcasing their wit, wisdom and creativity with a “two-sentence acceptance speech.” The audience of educators will be asked to applaud the best two-sentence acceptance speeches and to play grammar police, looking out for run-on sentences. The most creative, pithy and entertaining two-second acceptance speeches will be showcased in the highlight videos of the Bammy Awards event.

3.    A custom, handcrafted, limited-edition and numbered statuette has been fashioned for the Bammy Awards by Los Angeles sculptor Michael De Medina. Intended to be an iconic symbol of excellence in education from A to Z, the Bammy Award statuette was designed to place the recognition we give to educators on par with that we give to the actors, singers and entertainers whom our culture so highly values. There has been much deliberation about who should receive the very first Bammy Award ever presented.

About the Bammy Awards

The Bammy Awards were created in response to the tremendous national pressure on educators and education leaders to improve student outcomes and the intense scrutiny that today's educators face as a result. The Bammy Awards acknowledge that teachers can't educate children alone and don't do it alone. The awards aim to foster cross-discipline recognition for the vital role played by every member of the education village, encourage collaboration and respect across the various domains, elevate education and education successes in the public eye, and raise the profile and voices of the many undervalued and unrecognized people who are making a difference in the field every day.

The Bammy Awards are presented by the Academy of Education Arts and Sciences, made up of 164 of the nation’s most prominent and influential education leaders and professional associations.

Sponsors for the evening include School Health Corporation, Gojo-Purell, Cardiac Science, Enablemart and BAM Radio Network.

For a complete list of nominations and more information, please visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jeannette Bernstein
Visit website