ENTER THE ASYLUM: Digital Original Novellas by Bestselling Author Jocelynn Drake Introduce Readers to Well-Inked New Urban Fantasy Series

Share Article

The second of two prequel stories to Jocelynn Drake’s ANGEL’S INK, the first novel in her new Asylum Tales series about a magical tattoo artist, Gage, and his friends, Trixie, a gorgeous elf who hides her true identity and a hulking troll named Bronx.

THE ASYLUM INTERVIEWS: TRIXIE (Harper Voyager, on-sale 9/4/2012, e-ISBN 9780062118257, $1.99 digital short), an e-original novella by acclaimed urban fantasy author Jocelynn Drake, serves as prelude to a new series which New York Times bestseller Kim Harrison calls "intriguing and wildly inventive." On-sale now in digital format, this is the second of two prequels that lead into Drake's trade paperback debut, Angel's Ink, a book that J.R. Ward calls “gritty, authentic and fast-paced."

The Asylum Tales series, called "a whole new take on dark urban fantasy," by Simon
Green, Jocelynn Drake introduces Low Town, a place populated by humans and all manner of magical creatures. The action revolves around Gage, owner of The Asylum Tattoo Parlor. He is a master tattoo artist and secret warlock, who Booklist compares to Jim Butcher's Harry Dresden. Gage and his employees, the hulking troll, Bronx, and Trixie, a beautiful elf who hides her true identity, create gorgeous tattoos for their patrons, and will mix in special ingredients to give the tattoos a magical kick—for the right price. A stingy patron wishing for a little extra luck might find themselves with an expired leprechaun hair in their ink and a series of unlucky events in their future.

THE ASYLUM INTERVIEWS: TRIXIE tells the story of how Trixie ended up a resident of The Asylum Tattoo Parlor as she tries to escape a mysterious past with the help of Gage's ex-girlfriend, Jo, a vampire with problems of her own. TRIXIE has received great praise from the blog world. Smash Attack Reads calls it and BRONX "a great introduction to the series," while Open Book Society calls it "fun" and Oh The Book Girl recommends it for fans of Vicki Pettersson and Charlaine Harris.

Readers can buy both THE ASYLUM INTERVIEWS: BRONX (Harper Voyager, on-sale 7/3/2012, ISBN 9780062118233, $1.99 digital short) and THE ASYLUM INTERVIEWS: TRIXIE wherever e-books are sold, in anticipation of the October 16 release of ANGEL'S INK (Harper Voyager, on-sale 10/16/2012, ISBN 9780062117854, e-ISBN 9780062117861, $14.99 trade paperback/$8.99 ebook).

The bestselling author of the DARK DAYS series and former financial analyst, Jocelynn Drake lives in Kentucky.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Caroline Perny
Avon Books
(212) 207-7531
Email >

Caroline Perny
Follow us on
Visit website