New WCRI Webinar: Physician-Dispensed Drugs

Share Article

Join the Workers Compensation Research Institute’s (WCRI) senior researcher, Dongchun Wang, on Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 1pm ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, 10am PT) for a one-hour discussion about physician-dispensed drugs, which has gained attention as a rapidly growing cost driver in states all across the country.

People watching a WCRI webinar.

People watching a WCRI webinar.

Physician dispensing is the practice of doctors prescribing and dispensing drugs from their offices, which allows them to market the drug upwards of 60 to 300 percent higher than your local drug store charges for the same drug.

As policymakers and other stakeholders look for ways to control rising healthcare costs in their state workers’ compensation system, physician-dispensed drugs has gained attention as a rapidly growing cost driver in states all across the country.

Physician dispensing is the practice of doctors prescribing and dispensing drugs from their offices, which allows them to market the drug upwards of 60 to 300 percent higher than your local drug store charges for the same drug.

Join the Workers Compensation Research Institute’s (WCRI) senior researcher, Dongchun Wang, on Thursday, September 27, 2012 at 1pm ET (12pm CT, 11am MT, 10am PT) for a one-hour discussion on this very important issue.

Things you will learn:

  • Where it’s common and growing.
  • Difference in price between drugs dispensed from a doctor’s office versus your local pharmacy.
  • Certain drugs being prescribed more often by physician dispensers.
  • The result of the California 2007 reforms that equalized prices paid for physician- and pharmacy-dispensed prescriptions.

This webinar will draw from WCRI’s 23-state study, Physician Dispensing in Workers' Compensation, which includes Arizona, Arkansas, California, Connecticut, Florida, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Maryland, Massachusetts, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, New York, North Carolina, Pennsylvania, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia, and Wisconsin.

REGISTER NOW by clicking on the following link: http://www.wcrinet.org/9.27.12_webbriefing_reg.html. Webinars are $35 for WCRI Members, $70 for Non-Members, and free for public officials and members of the media.

About WCRI:

The Workers Compensation Research Institute (WCRI) is an independent, not-for-profit research organization based in Cambridge, MA. WCRI is recognized as a leader in providing objective, credible, and high-quality information about public policy issues involving workers' compensation systems. WCRI's members include employers; insurers; governmental entities; managed care companies; health care providers; insurance regulators; state labor organizations; and state administrative agencies in the U.S., Canada, Australia and New Zealand.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Andrew Kenneally
Follow us on
Visit website