Choice Hotels Australasia Sounds Award Gong at Annual Gala Dinner

Share Article

Choice Hotels announces its Gold Award winners at its annual Gala dinner.

Mackay accommodation

Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina

I feel inspired to be working alongside franchisees that are focused on delivering the best possible experience to guests. These awards acknowledge our properties where quality and character sets them apart

Choice Hotels Australasia celebrated a fabulous year, bestowing its annual Franchisee of the Year awards at a gala dinner at Carousel in Melbourne on the 29th of August, paying homage to outstanding property performance over the past 12 months.

The evening saw Choice Hotels present four properties with the prestigious Franchisee of the Year award, recognising the best properties across each of the Choice Hotels brands: Econo Lodge, Comfort, Quality and Clarion. And the results proved that Queensland ‘knows its hospitality – with three of the four major award winners located in the Sunshine State.

Each property was required to meet strict criteria relating to property service and capital standards, participation in Choice training, conference, sales and marketing activities as well as receiving consistently high guest feedback scores

Trent Fraser, Choice Hotels Australasia’s Chief Executive Officer, said he was overwhelmed by the calibre of candidates for the 2012 Franchise of the Year awards.

“I feel inspired to be working alongside franchisees that are focused on delivering the best possible experience to guests. These awards acknowledge our properties where quality and character sets them apart,” said Fraser.

The evening concluded Choice’s 2012 ‘Get on Board’ Annual Conference, a four day event for franchisees that provided insight into Choice’s programs, distribution channels, future opportunities and included updates from the CEO, Senior Management team and international guests.

Franchisees also had the opportunity to listen to inspiring leaders including Tourism Australia’s Managing Director, Andrew McEvoy, and participate in relevant industry focused workshops.

Choice also presented 28 individual properties with Gold awards which were bestowed upon franchisees who have embraced the partnership and opportunities with Australasia’s largest hotel franchise group whilst upholding exemplary customer service standards.

Individuals amongst Choice’s franchisees, property representatives, management and staff were also recognised during conference. 22 Champions of Choice awards were presented to individuals who over the past 12 months have been exceptionally proactive, supportive and are strong ambassadors for the brands.


2012 Franchise of the Year Awards:
Econo Lodge Park Lane    Bundaberg    Queensland
Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens    Brisbane    Queensland
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway    Wangaratta    Victoria
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina Mackay    Queensland

2012 Gold Awards:
Econo Lodge City Star Brisbane    Brisbane    Queensland
Econo Lodge Park Lane     Bundaberg     Queensland
Econo Lodge Hacienda Motel    Geelong    Victoria
Comfort Inn Parkes International    Parkes    New South Wales
Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens    Brisbane    Queensland
Comfort Resort Blue Pacific     Mackay    Queensland
Comfort Inn Glenfield Toowoomba    Queensland
Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill    Ballarat    Victoria
Comfort Inn & Suites City Views    Ballarat    Victoria
Comfort Inn Julie-Anna    Bendigo    Victoria
Comfort Inn Richmond Henty    Portland    Victoria
Comfort Inn on Raglan    Warrnambool    Victoria
Comfort Inn & Suites Blazing Stump     Wodonga    Victoria
Comfort Inn Bay of Isles     Esperance    Western Australia
Comfort Inn Bel Eyre Perth    Perth    Western Australia
Quality Hotel on Olive    Albury    New South Wales
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Armidale    Armidale    New South Wales
Quality Hotel NOAH’s On The Beach     Newcastle    New South Wales
Quality Hotel Apollo International    Newcastle    New South Wales
Quality Hotel Powerhouse Tamworth    Tamworth    New South Wales
Quality Hotel Platinum International     Toowoomba    Queensland
Quality Hotel Gateway    Devonport    Tasmania
Quality Hotel Tabcorp Park    Melton South    Victoria
Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway    Wangaratta    Victoria
Quality Hotel Wellington    Wellington    New Zealand
Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina    Mackay    Queensland
Clarion Hotel Soho    Adelaide    South Australia
Clarion Suites Gateway    Melbourne    Victoria

2012 Champions of Choice Awards:
Michelle Allsop     Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens
Hammond Cardon     Quality Hotel Lincoln Green
Wayne Derbyshire    Quality Hotel Barrycourt
Claudia Eades     Comfort Inn Bel Eyre
Leigh Evans     Quality Suites Pioneer Sands
Brigietta Herbertson             Comfort Inn Richmond Henty
Stephanie Horlin-Smith Combe    Clarion Hotel Soho
Michelle Johnson     Clarion Hotel On Canterbury
Olivier Lacoua     Quality Hotel Wellington
Gitte Le Garde    Clarion Hotel Mackay Marina
Wendy Lester     Quality Hotel Wangaratta Gateway
Ace Matthews     Comfort Inn Parkes International
Pauline Matthews     Comfort Inn Parkes International
Carlyn McClintock     Clarion Suites Highview
Rodney Mcglew     Quality Resort Sorrento Beach
Kathleen Mullan    Quality Hotel Tabcorp Park
Neil Robbins    Comfort Inn Sovereign Hill
Steve Ryan     Comfort Inn & Suites Robertson Gardens
Susan Scott    Comfort Inn & Suites City Views
Jye Segboer     Quality Hotel Powerhouse Tamworth
Danielle Thomas    Quality Hotel Old Adelaide
Greg Ward     Econo Lodge Park Lane

Econo Lodge, Comfort, Quality, Clarion, Clarion Collection, Choice Hotels Australasia, Choice Privileges and Choice Hotels are proprietary trademarks of Choice Hotels International, Inc. Choice Hotels Australasia is part of Choice Hotels International, which franchises more than 6,100 hotels worldwide including more than 280 in Australia, New Zealand and Singapore. For bookings and information contact 13 2400 in Australia or 0800 803 524 in New Zealand.© 2012 Choice Hotels Australasia

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Hannah Darby
Visit website