Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertianment announces winners of the 12th Annual CAPE New Writers Awards with new Hawaii category, in partnership with NBC Universal

Share Article

The 2012 CAPE New Writers Awards were presented to Feature winners, Ambarish Manepalli & Christopher T. VanDijk, TV Winner Franklin Jin Rho, and the first-ever winner for the Hawaii category, Cara Fasone.

Coalition of Asian Pacifics in Entertainment (CAPE) held its 12th Annual CAPE New Writers Awards on Thursday, September 27th, 2012 at the Japanese American National Museum in Little Tokyo with the sponsorship of NBC Universal and the Hollywood Foreign Press Association, as well as the Oahu Film Office, the Honolulu Film Office and the Hawaii International Film Festival which all joined forces to sponsor the addition of the new Hawaii Category. The presentation also included a staged reading of the 2011 winning scripts - ANGRY ANYMORE by Robin Wackerly and SLEEPERS by Frederick Kim - directed by renowned theater veteran, Chil Kong.

The winners were officially selected from nine finalists after the competition was narrowed down from a record-breaking number of entries. This year's winners were announced as Ambarish Manepalli & Christopher T. VanDijk for their Feature screenplay titled COWBOYS VERSUS INDIANS and Franklin Jin Rho for his television script REVELATION.

The 12th annual awards ceremony also marked the introduction of the Hawaii Category - a brand new category dedicated to writers originally from Hawaii, currently living in Hawaii, or set their original screenplay/teleplay in Hawaii. The first ever Hawaii Category New Writers Award was presented to Cara Fasone for her feature, HANABADA DAYS. The winners in all three categories were each awarded a $4,000 cash prize in addition to a copy of Final Draft’s screenwriting software.

CAPE was also proud to host a special reading of last year’s winning features SLEEPERS and ANGRY ANYMORE, directed by Director/Actor/Producer Chil Kong. The performances were acted out by a cast of actors including Rizwan Manji (OUTSOURCED, 24, FLASH FORWARD), David McInnis (HAWAII FIVE-0, IRIS), Erin Quill (NYC 22, STARVEILLANCE, DAMAGES), Philip Anthony-Rodriguez (SECRET LIFE OF THE AMERICAN TEENAGER, ZEKE AND LUTHER, 24, DARK BLUE).

"The response and volume of submissions to this year's CAPE New Writers Awards have been astounding; we are thrilled at the caliber of new Asian American and Pan Pacific Islander writers and talent whom we continue to discover and nurture through our awards each year. We thank our sponsors for supporting our association's program to provide education, opportunity and a platform to develop Hollywood's next generation of writers for TV and Film," commented CAPE Executive Director Jennifer Sanderson.

For over a decade, CAPE’s Annual New Writers Awards ceremony has helped successfully launch the careers of writers including Aaron Ho (COUGAR TOWN), Alice Wu (SAVING FACE), Christina Choe (2012 Slamdance winner), Ken Cheng (WILFRED), Leonard Chang (AWAKE), Thomas Wong (Fox Writer’s Intensive Fellow) and more. The program is especially unique to the entertainment industry as it is the only awards ceremony which produces success stories specifically for Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders.

CAPE has become one of the largest professional, non-profit organizations in Hollywood since its formation over 21 years ago under FOX Executive Wenda Fong, Senior VP of Worldwide Publicity at Sony Pictures Fritz Friedman and Film Producer and Executive Chris Lee. Today, the organization has grown to acquire a Board of Advisors including Ang Lee, John Woo, Dean Devlin, David Henry Hwang, and Lou Diamond Phillips, and a Board of Directors comprised of LOOPER Producer Chris Chen, Tim Chang and, most recently, YouTube Global Creator of Development, Bing Chen and Television Host and Judge on "Dancing with the Stars," Carrie Ann Inaba, and many more.

Full List Nominees and Winners:

WINNER - "Cowboys versus Indians" by Ambarish Manepalli & Christopher T. VanDijk
1ST RUNNER-UP - "Unclaimed Baggage" by Djoua Laurentiu
2ND RUNNER-UP - "Six Days" by Brian Kamei

WINNER - "Revelation" by Franklin Jin Rho
1ST RUNNER-UP - "McAllen PD" by Dennis Luu
2ND RUNNER-UP - "Happy Endings: My Fair Gaydy" by Angel Cielo

WINNER - "Hanabada Days" by Cara Fasone
1ST RUNNER-UP - "Diamond Head" by Feodor Chin & Jolene Kim
2ND RUNNER-UP - "Community" by Davis Kop


About CAPE
CAPE is one of the largest Asian-American professional entertainment industry organizations in Hollywood. CAPE members include studio and network executives, agents and managers, production executives, actors, writers, producers and directors. All event proceeds support CAPE educational programming.

Over the years, CAPE has grown considerably from its humble beginnings and helped numerous Asian Pacific Americans foster their careers in the entertainment industry. CAPE now boasts an e-membership of over 3000 people and offer multiple educational programs and panels sponsored by leading entertainment companies to continually develop and grow membership. CAPE provides opportunities for emerging and established actors, writers, directors, producers, agents, and executives, offering the tools that are needed to excel in a highly competitive industry. They give voice to Asian Pacific American artists and build bridges between Hollywood and the national cinemas of China, India, Korea, Japan, Taiwan, the Philippines, and many others. But most of all, CAPE continues the mission of the founders to create a community where positive, like-minded people can support each other both personally and professionally – and continue advancing diversity in entertainment.

For more information on CAPE please visit

Press contacts:
Jennie Kong

Alex Finegersh

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jennie Kong
CAPE (Miller PR)
Email >
Visit website