New Label Black Swan Sounds Presents Yogabeat: Conscious Hip Hop and Organic Electronica

Share Article

Black Swan Sounds, an imprint of White Swan Records, offers a different take on music for yoga.

News Image
Uplift, positivity and community are the unifying theme in a growing, eclectic catalog.

A new collection titled Yogabeat (release date November 14th) is the debut multi-artist compilation from the Black Swan label, culminating its first year as the lively, dance-oriented imprint of America’s preeminent yoga music label, Boulder-based White Swan Records.

Black Swan patrols the cutting edge of “yoga music” in search of hidden gems, with the aim of presenting a full measure of “beats with devotion” to a growing community of receptive listeners. Uplift, positivity and community are the unifying theme in a growing, eclectic catalog that ranges from ethno dub and organic hip-hop recordings to psychill soundscapes and global electronica.

The label’s mission of redefining yoga music - and in doing so expanding the yoga community’s open and ever-expanding musical mind as well as attracting new listeners who may not consider themselves yogis – is perfectly embodied in YogaBeat: Conscious Hip Hop and Organic Electronica, a collection of some of the most outstanding artists at work in the burgeoning yoga and kirtan end of the musical spectrum.

The soundscape is shaped by contributions from such artists as dub-chant pioneer DJ Drez, conscious hip-hop icon MC Yogi, and many more, including Desert Dwellers, Bole 2 Harlem, Sharon Gannon, David Newman (aka Durga Das), Lazy Hammock, Avasa & Matty Love, the Dum Dum Project, Srikala, and EarthRise SoundSystem.

Yogabeat, an auspicious first collection from Black Swan, takes rhythm and spirit from the yoga mat to the dancefloor, with a captivating sequence of energy-laden tracks.

1. DJ Drez - Om Nya Binghi (BSS edit)
2. Srikala - Freedom is the Basis                        
3. Dum Dum Project - Mad Happy
4. MC Yogi - Breath Control
5. DJ Drez - Wind Talker
6. Desert Dwellers - Moonlit Horizons (Drumspyder Mix)
7. Adham Shaikh - Water Prayer (feat. Jeff Holden)
8. Bole 2 Harlem - Aya Bellew
9. Sharon Gannon - Govinda Fly (EarthRise Sound System Remix)
10. Avasa & Matty Love - Let the Sun Shine Through
11. David Newman - Love Belongs To Everyone
12. Lazy Hammock - Gratitude (BSS edit)
13. EarthRise SoundSystem - Makyen Ghrir Allah (Desert Dwellers remix)

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Joel Davis
Follow us on
Visit website