Author and Retired Captain John G. Denham Pens Gripping Tales that Follows a Not-So-Typical Couple who Get Involved in Extraordinary Cases

Share Article

New Book Will Appeal to Fans of Mystery and Detective Stories

News Image

From author John G. Denham, who brought readers DD 891 and Captain, comes his latest novel. In Decker’s Log, he tells about a not-so-typical couple who tries to live a normal life, yet is frequently drawn astray by well meaning friends and others that need their special help.

Captain John Decker has spent most of his adult life at sea; a decorated career naval officer and later as a Licensed Master Mariner in command of a modern containership. Sixty-five and now retired, he has partnered with second wife, Florence “Flo” Decker, in a fledging business called Inquiry Associates, Inc. Flo is a lawyer, and formerly a FBI Special Agent now turned state judge. She has found her true calling as head of IA, Inc., which started as confidential consulting business, but quickly evolved into a problem solving legal-investigation resource for the U.S. Government and related friends.

A gripping book, Decker’s Log follows three episodes in the life and struggles of Florence and John Decker and their daily attempt to live normal lives. In “Bomb Aweigh,” the couple try to live the good life only to be trapped in a national emergency that verges on catastrophe. The thrilling second episode, “The Fathers” find the Deckers involved in investigating an international crime threat that if intensified, can destroy governments and corrupt nations. In the final story, titled “The Prize,” the past catches up with John Decker and his life is further complicated when a friend asks for assistance in a delicate matter involving an Asian nation.

Filled with danger, intrigue, action and adventure, Decker’s Log will appeal to fans of mystery and detective novels. Readers will enjoy following John, a normal guy, and Florence, a commonsense, practical gal, who lead ordinary lives with occasional hangovers. Their backgrounds may be different as day and night, but together they are a formidable team who gets involved when an unexpected problem arises. Can this dream team save the world from catastrophe? The answer awaits readers in the gripping pages of this book.

For more information on this book, interested parties may log on to http://www.Xlibris.com.

About the Author
Captain John G. Denham USN (retired) started his sea going career in 1942 as an Ordinary Seaman in an antique troop ship. Rejected by the Navy as too young, he shipped out on a short cruise to Hawaii only to spend a year in the most forward areas of the Pacific war zone. Remaining at sea he quickly rose to officer status and gained a commission in the U.S. Naval Reserve. On active duty in the Navy, he served in destroyers and auxiliaries in Atlantic and Pacific Fleet. During a short period of inactive duty, he returned to the merchant marine until augmented into the U.S. Navy as a Lieutenant, USN and unexpectedly was ordered to command. Until retirement in 1975, he served in four destroyers and three auxiliaries, on senior staffs and as an instructor. After retiring as Captain, USN from the Naval Weapon Station, Concord, California, he was employed as ship’s pilot on the bays, rivers and ports in the San Francisco Bay region. His final years of active employment were with the California Maritime Academy and American President Lines.

Decker's Log * by John G. Denham
Mystery
Publication Date: 11/29/2012
Trade Paperback; $19.99; # pages; 978-1-4771-5496-0
Trade Hardback; $29.99; # pages; 978-1-4771-5497-7
eBook; $3.99; 978-1-4771-5498-4
To request a complimentary paperback review copy, contact the publisher at (888) 795-4274 x. 7879. To purchase copies of the book for resale, please fax Xlibris at (610) 915-0294 or call (888) 795-4274 x. 7879.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Marketing Services
Xlibris
(888) 795-4274
Email >
Visit website