Toledo, Ohio (PRWEB) March 05, 2013
On Friday, March 1st, 2013, Ohio police officers were able to begin to officially issue tickets for texting and driving. Up until this point, House Bill 99 enabled officers to only issue warnings for this offense, but now tickets with increasing fines for each violation can be given to drivers who are found disobeying this law.
Texting while driving a vehicle is considered a minor misdemeanor in Ohio. As explained by NBC News, it is a secondary offense, meaning that in order to be issued a ticket; an officer must pull a vehicle over for something such as speeding.
The Ohio Texting Ban states that the first violation of this law may result in a $150 fine, with the second violation amounting to $300 and possible license suspension. Drivers under 18-years-old are unable to use any electronic wireless device while driving. This includes cell phones with Bluetooth, On-Star devices, computers or tablets, and GPS devices.
According to the Society for Human Resource Management, between 2009 and 2011 there were over 31,000 accidents caused by distracted driving, with nearly 8,000 resulting in injury, and 74 in fatalities. When a driver looks at their phone to read a text message, their eyes are off of the road for an average of 4.6 seconds, or the length of a football field if driving at 55 miles per hour. These staggering statistics presents the need for this ban, and the positive affect that it will have on Ohio roadways.
Attorney Charles Boyk stated, "I believe that this ban will reduce the number of accidents on the roadways and ultimately save lives."