Southeastern Conference 2013 Faculty Achievement Award Winners Named

Share Article

SEC Recognizes 14 Professors for Achievement in Research and Scholarship


SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners, one from each university, will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the Southeastern Conference and become his or her university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award.

The Southeastern Conference on Wednesday announced winners of the 2013 SEC Faculty Achievement Awards. These annual awards recognize professors from the 14 SEC member universities who have meritorious records in teaching and scholarship and who serve as role models for other faculty and students.

To be eligible to receive the SEC Faculty Achievement Award, a professor must be a teacher or scholar at an SEC university; have achieved the rank of full professor at an SEC university; have a record of extraordinary teaching; and a record of scholarship that is recognized nationally and/or internationally.

“The SEC Faculty Achievement Awards provide an opportunity for each SEC university to showcase the strengths of its faculty, who excel in many disciplines with varying areas of expertise,” said Dr. Jay Gogue, President of Auburn University and President of the Southeastern Conference. “In the SEC, we are fortunate to have professors who understand the value of classroom instruction, research guidance and scholarly contributions to the overall success of student education.”

SEC Faculty Achievement Award winners, one from each university, will receive a $5,000 honorarium from the Southeastern Conference and become his or her university’s nominee for the SEC Professor of the Year Award. The SEC Professor of the Year receives an additional $15,000 honorarium and will be presented at the annual SEC Awards Dinner in Destin, Florida.

SEC Commissioner Mike Slive said, “I want to congratulate the 14 professors who have been selected to receive this honor. They have transformed their classrooms and enriched the learning experience for SEC students. We are truly proud of their accomplishments.”

Chosen by a selection committee of SEC Provosts, the SEC Faculty Achievement Awards and the SEC Professor of the Year Award are part of a set of non-athletically related activities the Southeastern Conference has undertaken through its SECU academic initiative to encourage academic leadership and collaboration within the SEC membership.

The 2013 SEC Faculty Achievement Award Winners are:

University of Alabama, Dr. John Lochman, Professor and Doddridge Saxon Chairholder in Clinical Psychology

University of Arkansas, Dr. Gregory Salamo, Joe N. Basore Professor in Nanotechnology and Innovation

Auburn University, Dr. Pradeep Lall, Thomas Walter Professor in the Department of Mechanical Engineering

University of Florida, Dr. Larry DiMatteo, Huber Hurst Professor of Contract Law and Legal Studies

University of Georgia, Ms. Judith Ortiz Cofer, Regents and Franklin Professor of English and Creative Writing

University of Kentucky, Dr. Kimberly Ward Anderson, Gill Eminent Professor of Chemical Engineering

Louisiana State University, Dr. Katherine Kemler, Charles and Mary Barré Alumni Professor of Flute

University of Mississippi, Dr. Judson Watson, III, Howry Professor of Faulkner Studies

Mississippi State University, Dr. James C. Newman, Jr., Giles Distinguished Professor

University of Missouri, Dr. Joshua Millspaugh, O’Connor Distinguished Professor of Wildlife Management

University of South Carolina, Dr. Susan Cutter, Carolina Distinguished Professor of Geography

University of Tennessee, Dr. Harry McSween, Jr., Chancellor’s Professor

Texas A&M University, Dr. John Nielsen-Gammon, Regents Professor and Texas State Climatologist

Vanderbilt University, Dr. Donna Ford, Professor of Education and Human Development

SEC Faculty Achievement Award Winner Bios and Head Shots:

SEC Faculty Achievement Award Backgrounder:

SEC Faculty Achievement Award FAQ:



About SECU

Using its SECU academic initiative, the Southeastern Conference sponsors, supports and promotes collaborative higher education programs and activities involving administrators, faculty and students at its fourteen member universities. The goals of the SECU initiative include highlighting the endeavors and achievements of SEC faculty and universities; advancing the merit and reputation of SEC universities outside of the traditional SEC region; identifying and preparing future leaders for high-level service in academia; increasing the amount and type of education abroad opportunities available to SEC students; and providing opportunities for collaboration among SEC university personnel.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Sean Cartell
Follow us on
Visit website