ISTE 2013 Awards Honor Education Leaders for Leveraging Technology to Transform Learning

Share Article

Award Honorees to be Recognized at ISTE 2013 Conference, June 23-26, in San Antonio

News Image
The 2013 ISTE award honorees are living examples of the how educators are, right now, using thought leadership, advocacy and innovation to leverage technology to transform learning and teaching.

Today the International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) announced the outstanding education leaders that will be honored at the world’s premier educational technology event, ISTE 2013, in San Antonio, June 23-26.

“The 2013 ISTE award honorees are living examples of the how educators are, right now, using thought leadership, advocacy and innovation to leverage technology to transform learning and teaching,” said Brian Lewis, ISTE CEO. “With their creativity, passion and dedication, they’re inspiring great things in our students, schools and communities. We look forward to recognizing them at ISTE 2013.”

North Carolina’s Rowan-Salisbury School System is the winner of the 2013 Sylvia Charp Award for District Innovation in Technology. Presented by “T.H.E. Journal” and ISTE, this award recognizes a school system that exhibits effectiveness and innovation in the application of technology. Honoring Dr. Sylvia Charp, the founding editor of “T.H.E. Journal,” this award honors innovation and equitable and appropriate technology use for all students in a school system with the goal of increasing learning opportunities and improving achievement. Rowan-Salisbury School System Superintendent Dr. Judy Grissom and Executive Director of Technology Phil Hardin will attend ISTE 2013 to accept this prestigious award.

Honored with this year’s ISTE Outstanding Leader Award is Chris Lehmann, founding principal of the Science Leadership Academy, an inquiry-driven, project-based, one-to-one laptop science and technology high school in Philadelphia. This honor, which goes to a leader outside of the classroom, recognizes outstanding achievement and leadership in implementing technology to improve education.

The 2013 ISTE Outstanding Teacher Award goes to high school English teacher and author of “The Nerdy Teacher” blog, Nicholas Provenzano. Provenzano is recognized for
demonstrating outstanding achievement in and understanding of educational technology implementation and his passion for teaching.

ISTE’s 2013 Public Policy Advocate Award, honoring an outstanding and enthusiastic individual for advocating for education technology policy, is awarded to Kurt Kiefer, assistant state superintendent at the Wisconsin Department of Public Instruction.

Karen Lirenman, an elementary teacher from Surrey School District in Surrey, British Columbia, is the recipient of the 2013 Kay L. Bitter Vision Award. Given in memory of Kay L. Bitter, an early childhood educator for more than 20 years, this award recognizes a PK–2 educator whose work has had a significant positive impact on the use of technology in education.

ISTE’s Outstanding Young Educator Award, honoring a teacher under the age of 35, goes to Krista Moroder, K-12 technology integrator at the Kettle Moraine School District in Wales, Wis. Moroder is recognized for demonstrating vision, innovation, action and using technology to improve learning and teaching.

In addition to naming Moroder ISTE's Outstanding Young Educator, ISTE also named seven Emerging Leaders:

Justin Aglio, principal, Propel Braddock Hills High School, Pittsburgh, Pa.
Rachel Armstrong, blended learning teacher, Hale Kula Elementary School, Wahiawa, Hawaii
Adrienne Gifford, advanced technology specialist, Open Window School, Bellevue, Wash.
Gabriela Hernandez, instructional technologist, Lewisville Independent School District, Lewisville, Texas
Sara Hunter, STEM coach and teacher, Zionsville Community Schools, Zionsville, Ind.
Bill Selak, teacher, Covina-Valley Unified School District, Covina, Calif.
Ashley Webb, photography instructor, Open High School of Utah, West Jordan, Utah

Receiving the SIGOL (ISTE’s online learning special interest group) Online Learning Award for the use of telecommunication networks to provide innovative learning opportunities for students are Lisa Parisi, teacher, Denton Avenue Elementary School, New Hyde Park, NY; and Donna Román, teacher, Mill Creek School, Geneva, Ill.

Teams honored with the SIGMS (ISTE’s media specialist special interest group) Technology Innovation Award honoring a school librarian and collaborating teacher who conduct an exemplary technology program extending beyond the library are:

Matthew Winner, library media specialist, Albert Yoo, teacher, Longfellow Elementary School, Columbia, Md.; and Gretchen Welk, teacher, and Sherry Gick, librarian, Rossville Elementary School, Rossville, Ind.

Elizabeth Kahn, librarian, and Lisa Valence, English/Language Arts and math teacher, Patrick F. Taylor Science & Technology Academy, Jefferson, La.

All of this year’s honorees will receive complimentary registration to ISTE 2013 in San Antonio as well as a one-year standard ISTE membership, in addition to various other prize winnings.

About ISTE

The International Society for Technology in Education (ISTE®) is the premier membership association for educators and education leaders engaged in advancing excellence in learning and teaching through the innovative and effective use of technology in PK-12 and teacher education. Home to ISTE’s annual conference and exposition and the widely adopted NETS, ISTE represents more than 100,000 professionals worldwide. For more information, visit

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Lisa Wolfe
L. Wolfe Communications
Email >
Visit website