Stars of the Avant Garde to Turn Out for The Acker Awards in San Francisco and New York

Share Article

The Acker Awards honors avant garde excellence, including Cleis Press founder Felice Newman and Frederique Delacoste.

Awards ceremonies to take place in San Francisco and New York City

When: JUNE 6, 2013, 7PM, local time
Where: VIRACOCHA, 998 Valencia Street at 21st, the Mission, San Francisco and The Angel Orensanz Foundation, 172 Norfolk Street, ManhattanNew York.
What: Acker Awards are bestowed on those who “have made outstanding contributions in their discipline in defiance of convention, or else served their fellow writers and artists in outstanding ways.”

The award is named after the novelist, and darling of the avant garde, KATHY ACKER

Recipients of the award include Hubert Selby Jr. and Barney Rosset (posthumous) for lifetime achievement; Annie Sprinkle, Peter Plate, Justin Giarla, William T.Vollman, Michelle Tea, Diane DiPrima, Michael Sladek, Matt Gonzalez, Paul Krassner, Joe Goode, Bob Holman, Judith Malina, Daniel Handler, Jane Ganahl, Felice Newman, Brenda Knight, Oscar Villalon, Charlie Getter, Zarina Zabrisky, Joe Clifford, Jerry Cimino, Evan Karp, Peter Maravalis, Jack Boulware, Brett Amory, C.Carr, Nick Zedd, Alice O'Malley, Joe Coleman and many others. For a complete listing of the recipients and more information visit the website.

**Alan Kaufman is the author of DRUNKEN ANGEL and a co-curator of the forthcoming Allen Ginsberg Festival at the Contemporary Jewish Museum in San Francisco.

**Clayton Patterson is a photographer, editor and published of JEWS: A PEOPLES HISTORY OF THE LOWER EAST SIDE and curator of the Outlaw Art Museum on the Lower East side of NYC.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Brenda Knight
Follow us on
Visit website