Kappa Delta Pi Welcomes New Laureate Chapter Members

Share Article

The Kappa Delta Pi Laureate Chapter is comprised of educational leaders who are shaping thought and practice in education on a global scale. Kappa Delta Pi is proud to welcome the following distinguished educators as the newest KDP Laureates: Dr. Carl A. Grant, Dr. Jonathan D. Jansen, and Dr. Luis C. Moll.

Newest inductees into the KDP Laureate Chapter

Dr. Carl Grant, Dr. Jonathan Jansen, & Dr. Luis Moll

Today’s Laureates are on the forefront of education—influencing thought, performing active research, and publishing and presenting throughout the world.

Nearly 100 years ago, Kappa Delta Pi established the Laureate Chapter to honor those who make outstanding contributions to the education field. Beginning with the first Laureate, John Dewey, and including such names as Albert Einstein and Margaret Mead, this chapter recognizes leaders who are shaping thought and practice in education. Though more than 250 scholars comprise the Laureate Chapter, membership is limited to 60 living scholars. The Laureate Chapter is proud to announce the induction of three new members that will take place at KDP’s Convo 2013 in Dallas, TX.

Dr. Carl A. Grant is the Hoefs-Bascom Professor in the Department of Curriculum and Instruction and Afro-American Studies at the University of Wisconsin–Madison. Prior to joining the university, he spent time in England as a Fulbright Scholar. In 2011 he was awarded the American Education Research Association Mentoring Award in Division G. He also is the recipient of the 2010 American Education Research Association (AERA) Social Justice Award.

Dr. Jonathan D. Jansen is originally from Montagu, Western Cape. He came to the United States in 2007 as a Fulbright Scholar at Stanford University. Currently, he is the Vice-Chancellor and Rector of the University of the Free State. Each year he makes time to teach first-year undergraduate students while leading three major research programs. He has been awarded the 2012 Education Africa Lifetime Achievement Award and was elected AERA Fellow in 2011.

Dr. Luis C. Moll is a Professor in the Department of Teaching, Learning and Sociocultural Studies, College of Education, at the University of Arizona. His research focuses on culture, psychology, and education; bilingualism and literacy; sociocultural theory; and qualitative methods. He is an active member in the National Academy of Education and received the 2011 AERA Palmer O. Johnson Award.

Today’s Laureates are on the forefront of education—influencing thought, performing active research, and publishing and presenting throughout the world. KDP Laureates may serve as journal guest editors, contribute articles for publication, and speak at regional and national conferences. One member of the Laureate Chapter serves as Laureate Counselor on the Executive Council each biennium.

Kappa Delta Pi, International Honor Society in Education, is a 501 (c) (3) organization established in 1911 to recognize and promote excellence in education, provide a reasoned voice for significant issues, and link learning communities of educators. Through its programs, services, and strategic partnerships, KDP supports the professional growth and teaching practices of educators throughout all phases and levels of their careers. The organization currently has more than 600 chapters and an active membership of 43,000 worldwide.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Sally Rushmore
Kappa Delta Pi
1-800-284-3167 1561
Email >
Visit website