Minneapolis Rock Group The Suburbs Announce First Album in 27 Years with Kickstarter

Share Article

Legendary rock group returns to record first new album in almost three decades.

Announcing The Suburbs Kickstarter Campaign

Announcing The Suburbs Kickstarter Campaign

The band's mix of punk, dance music, and humor was ahead of the curve and has stood the test of time as their dedicated fans have proven.

The Suburbs, the Minnesota-based rock group, have returned to record their first new album after a recording hiatus of 27 years and are reaching out to their fans for support in a Kickstarter campaign that will launch Wednesday, Jun 26 and go through Thursday, Jul 25.

The Suburbs represented Minnesota rock in the 1980s alongside The Replacements, Prince, Husker Du and Soul Asylum. The band recorded 6 albums, including two for Mercury/Polygram (featuring their signature song “Love Is The Law”) and A&M Records. They were featured on MTV and voted among the "100 Most Influential Minnesota Musical Entities of the Twentieth Century" by The Minneapolis Star Tribune. The band's mix of punk, dance music, and humor was ahead of the curve and has stood the test of time as their dedicated fans have proven.

"Suburbs Fans are the best. They've really taken a 'pride in ownership' in our band," said Chan Poling, lead singer and keyboard player for The Suburbs. "They've really gotten behind the incredible 'Love Is The Law' campaign for marriage equality, they've packed the clubs, they’re just great."

The Suburbs started a Kickstarter campaign to pursue their independence from the ever-changing music industry. Fans can pledge a range of dollar levels on The Suburb's Kickstarter campaign page and choose from a variety of experiences and gifts while pre-ordering the band’s brand new album SI SAUVAGE, which will include 10 new songs and is scheduled for release Aug. 27, 2013.

For more information about The Suburbs Kickstarter campaign or to make a donation, visit http://www.thesuburbsband.com/kickstarter. Learn more about the band on The Suburb's website http://www.thesuburbsband.com.

About The Suburbs
The Suburbs are an alternative punk rock, funk and new wave 80's band formed in 1977 from Minneapolis, Minnesota. Original band members consisted of Chan Poling, Bruce Allen, Michael Halliday, Hugo Klaers and Blaine John Chaney. The Suburbs released six albums between 1978-1986. During that time the band's popularity increased and gained a following that broke out of the Midwest and reached both coasts. Today, The Suburbs consist of three original members: Chan Poling, Hugo Klaers, Blaine John Chaney and two new members; Steve Brantseg on lead and rhythm guitars, and Steve Price on bass. The band's eighth album is scheduled to release late August.


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Kaila Przymus
Visit website