Summer on the Green kicks off July 11, 2015 with Shakespeare in the Parks

Share Article

Free performances this summer at Marylhurst University

Portland Actors Ensemble, celebrating their 45th anniversary as Portland’s Shakespeare in the Parks, will kick off Marylhurst University’s Summer on the Green series on Saturday, July 11 with a performance of Macbeth.

This year the university presents an unprecedented 14 performances – all free of charge. Audience members are encouraged to bring picnics and blankets for lawn seating. Parking is free, too.

Sponsored by Aequitas Capital, Liberty Mutual, Kaady Car Wash, Lake Oswego Review, Bank of Oswego and Bikram Yoga.

For a full schedule of events, visit: marylhurst.edu/summer

WHERE:    
Lajos Balogh Performing Shell
Marylhurst University
17600 Pacific Highway (Hwy 43)
Marylhurst, OR 97036

DATES &
ARTISTS:    
Saturday, July 11 at 6 p.m.
Macbeth
Shakespeare in the Parks

Friday, July 17 at 7 p.m.
The Beatniks
Music of the '60s, '70s and '80s

Friday, July 24 at 7 p.m.
Johnny Limbo and The Lugnuts
Rock'n'roll classics

Saturday, August 8 at 7 p.m.
The Merry Wives of Windsor
Original Practice Shakespeare

Wednesday, August 19 at 7 p.m.
Peter Zisa
Classical guitar

Thursday, August 20 at 7 p.m.
Thara Memory
Classical, jazz, rhythm and blues

Friday, August 21 at 7 p.m.
Mozart & Marylhurst
Portland Festival Symphony

Saturday, August 22 at 6 p.m.
The Taming of the Shrew
Shakespeare in the Parks

Sunday, August 23 at 7 p.m.
Three Leg Torso
Synthesis of chamber music, tango, klezmer, Latin and Gypsy music

Monday, August 24 at 7 p.m.
Jack Falk, Klezmocracy
Klezmer clarinetist

Wednesday, August 26 at 7 p.m.
Fretlandia Duo: Tim Scott & Lee Inman
Elegant music for two violas de gamba

Friday, August 28 at 7 p.m.
Michael Allen Harrison & Julianne Johnson
Old favorites and new originals

Saturday, August 29 at 7 p.m.
Imperial - Columbia Brass
Early Baroque, Renaissance and contemporary works

Sunday, August 30 at 7 p.m.
American Music Program: Pacific Crest Jazz Orchestra
Winners of the Essentially Ellington competition, Jazz at Lincoln Center

MARYLHURST UNIVERSITY, a private liberal arts university 10 miles south of Portland, Ore., on Highway 43, is regionally accredited and nationally recognized for innovation and academic excellence in serving adult learners.

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Simona Boucek

Karen Pederson
Visit website