New Service by Deed and Record to Transfer California Real Property from a Deceased Parent to a Child

Share Article

Deed and Record provides a new service to transfer California real property owned by a parent who has died to his or her children. The Company transfers real property ownership of a deceased parent by affidavit or by court order.

Deed and Record offers a new service to transfer California real property from a deceased parent.

Deed and Record has a new service to transfer California real property ownership from a deceased parent to a child by an affidavit or by court order. Real property includes houses, rental properties and commercial properties.

Transfer of real property owned by a deceased parent's trust is by affidavit. An affidavit is a written statement of facts under oath and penalty of perjury. In the affidavit, the successor trustee swears before a notary-of-public the facts of death and trust ownership. The affidavit is then filed with the recorder in the county where the real property is located. The official transfer from parent to child is generally completed within one month and costs less than $500.

Real property not owned by a parent’s trust but valued at less than $50,000 can also be transferred from a deceased parent to a child by an affidavit known as "Affidavit Real Property of Small Value.” This affidavit is filed first in the court in the county where the real property is located. The court acknowledges the filing and returns the affidavit. The affidavit is then filed with the recorder. Depending on the county, the process can take two to five months to complete.

Real property not in a trust but with a market value greater than $50,000 but less than $150,000 may be transferred by order of a Judge of the Superior Court of California. The order can be obtained using a document called, "Petition to Determine Succession to Real Property." At least one court hearing is required. The transfer can be completed with three to five months.

Real property not in a trust with a market value greater than $150,000 must be transferred by order of a Judge of the Superior Court. The order is obtained by petition in the probate department. Two court hearings are required. In this case, the transfer from parent to child generally takes one year.

Deed and Record provides this new service to transfer California real property owned by a parent who has died to his or her children. The company now facilitates ownership from the parent to a child by both affidavit and court order, making it a complete service.

Press release is provided by Mark W. Bidwell, a licensed California attorney. Office is located at 4952 Warner Avenue, Suite 235, Huntington Beach, California 92649. Email is Mark(at)DeedAndRecord(dot)com. Phone number is 714-846-2888.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Mark Bidwell

Mark W.Bidwell
Kim Nishida
since: 10/2012
Like >
Follow us on
Visit website