Love, Loss and Drug Addiction – Mark Morey Launches a New Novel About a Two Time Champion and Winner of the First Formula One Race

Share Article

A fictionalised account of one of the most successful sportsmen of all time, who led an uncompromising life of incredible highs and lows. Set in the 1930s on the eve of World War Two, this is an incredible story of an incredible man in an incredible time.

The Last Great Race

The Last Great Race

Author Mark Morey tells the story of Achille Varzi: one of the most successful sportsman of the 1930s; hero to his followers; worshipped by the women in his life; driven to succeed. A passionate affair, unbearable humiliation after one of his greatest victories, and nearly being killed in a freak accident all lead to a terrible drug addiction. Varzi was lucky to survive; eventually being rescued by his family and by his ever faithful Norma. Told partly through the eyes of Varzi and partly by fictional Italian-Australian journalist Paul Bassi, readers follow the many triumphs and tragedies of Varzi's life: his downfall when at the height of his success during the golden era of motor racing, his recovery, his marriage, and his return to racing once more, winning the first-ever Formula One race.

The Last Great Race is a fictionalised account of a real-life story that seems too incredible to be true, only it is.

What They Are Saying About The Last Great Race

It has a wonderful cast of characters, array of nationalities, wonderful places and the cars are so sensual. Even a non-racing enthusiast can follow the action and get caught up in it. Bravo! – Rhonda Swayda. Author.

I recommend The Last Great Race for anyone looking for a great book, regardless of their feelings about car sports, because this book is SO MUCH MORE than that – Liz Gavin. Author.

This novel is perfect for fans of Formula One but also for those who love a well-written romance. From the story of Varzi you can learn to never give up, fighting to achieve your dreams – Veronica Marzini. Reviewer.

About the Author

Mark Morey is a part-time consultant and a part-time author, with five previous novels with excellent reviews and sales. Although Australian and a resident of Canberra, Mark regards himself as a citizen of the world as his books attest, with The Last Great Race set in Italy in the 1930s and 1940s.

Where to Get Your Copy of The Last Great Race

Ebook and Print On Demand from Amazon UK
Ebook from Barnes and Noble
Mark Morey: http://markmorey.blogspot.com.au/

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Mark Morey
@markmorey5
since: 01/2012
Follow >