American Academy of Nursing Celebrates Health Care Leaders as 2016 Honorary Fellows

Share Article

The American Academy of Nursing today announced four individuals it will celebrate as Honorary Fellows during its annual policy conference on Saturday, October 22nd in Washington, DC. Collaboration with extraordinary individuals outside of the nursing profession is essential to the Academy's mission to shape and transform health policy.

The American Academy of Nursing recently announced four individuals it will celebrate as Honorary Fellows during its annual policy conference on Saturday, October 22nd in Washington, DC. The Academy is comprised of nurse leaders in education, management and research. The Honorary Fellow designation recognizes the contributions of outstanding professionals who are outside of the nursing profession.

"These individuals have been leaders in promoting and improving health care in ways that value the important contributions that nurses make to achieve these goals. We are thrilled to welcome them into the Academy as Honorary Fellows," said Academy President Bobbie Berkowitz, PhD, RN, NEA-BC, FAAN. "Collaboration with extraordinary individuals outside of the nursing profession is essential to our mission and the Academy looks forward to working with these four as we continue to shape and transform health policy."

American Academy of Nursing 2016 Honorary Fellows:

Yvette Perry Conley, PhD, is Professor of Nursing and Human Genetics at the University of Pittsburgh School of Nursing. Dedicated to enhancing the research abilities of nurses, Dr. Conley is Director of an NIH-funded T32 titled "Targeted Research and Academic Training of Nurses in Genomics" that educates pre- and post-doctoral scholars. She has been a primary faculty member for the National Institute of Nursing Research Summer Genetics Institute for 15 years, where she has assisted over 300 nurse scientists. An expert in the field of molecular genetics, Dr. Conley' has focused her research on variability in patient outcomes in the context of conditions such as traumatic brain injury and stroke.

Lorina Marshall-Blake, PhD(hon), MGA, is President of the Independence Blue Cross (IBC) Foundation and Vice President, Community Affairs, Independence Blue Cross. Under her leadership, the IBC Foundation has invested $20 million over the past decade to support nurses through undergraduate, graduate, and doctoral scholarships. An expert in philanthropy and corporate management, Dr. Marshall-Blake most recently led a Foundation initiative that committed $1.5 million to fund nursing students at 21 schools in southeastern Pennsylvania. In 2014, she committed the Foundation to be an inaugural funder of the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation's Future of Nursing Scholars Program to increase the number of PhD-prepared nurses.

Daniel B. Oerther, PhD, MS, is a Professional Engineer and Professor of Civil, Architectural, and Environmental Engineering at Missouri University of Science and Technology. He is also a Foreign Affairs Officer at the U.S. Department of State's Office of Global Food Security. Dedicated to preventing disease and promoting wellness, Dr. Oerther has partnered with nurses, physicians, and other professionals to focus his interventions on water, sanitation, nutrition and food safety. His international efforts have brought clean drinking water, sanitation and access to health care to more than 100,000 villagers in Guatemala, India, Kenya and Tanzania.

Edward Salsberg, MPA, is Director of Health Workforce Studies at the Health Workforce Institute at George Washington University and an instructor at the GW School of Nursing. Previously he served as the founding Director for the National Center for Health Workforce Analysis at the Health Resources and Services Administration, where he was responsible for the first federal national sample survey of nurse practitioners. An expert on supply, demand, distribution, and use of the health care workforce, Mr. Salsberg was a member of the Institute of Medicine Committee for Assessing Progress on Implementing the Recommendations of The Future of Nursing report.

To become an Honorary Fellow, an individual must be sponsored by three Academy Fellows and demonstrate extraordinary contributions to nursing and health care. The Academy's board of directors annually selects only a small number of applicants to become inducted as Honorary Fellows.

About the American Academy of Nursing
The American Academy of Nursing ( serves the public and the nursing profession by advancing health policy and practice through the generation, synthesis, and dissemination of nursing knowledge. The Academy's more than 2,400 Fellows are nursing's most accomplished leaders in education, management, practice, policy, and research. They have been recognized for their extraordinary contributions to nursing and health care.

CONTACT: Barry Eisenberg

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Barry Eisenberg, Communications and Public Affairs
Follow >
Visit website