Highlights Top 100 Online Accounting Programs in the U.S.

Share Article

Ranking Compares Nation’s Best Two, Four Year Colleges with Online Accounting Degrees

A list of the nation’s Best Online Accounting Degree programs for 2016-2017 has been released by leading higher education information and resource provider The list ranks two- and four-year schools respectively, highlighting 100 colleges that offer the best overall combination of value and quality for online accounting students. Top scoring schools include Davenport University, University of Alabama at Birmingham, Northern State University, Dickinson State University and Cleary University (four-year) and Holmes Community College, Hutchinson Community College, Lone Star College, Western Nebraska Community College and Southwest Virginia Community College (two-year).

"The American Institute of Certified Public Accountants showed a record number of accounting graduates were hired by public accounting firms in 2012,” said Dan Schuessler, CEO and Founder of “With that in mind, we were compelled to highlight and rank the schools making an effort to maximize affordability and provide flexible, high-quality learning options for accounting students.”

To be eligible for placement on the rankings, a school must meet several minimum requirements. Colleges must be accredited, public or private not-for-profit institutions to qualify. Affordability standards are also set to include only schools who offer in-state tuition below $5,000 per year at two-year schools or $25,000 per year at four-year schools. More than a dozen additional statistics are compared to determine final scores and rankings for each qualifying school, such as aid offerings, graduation rates and more.

For complete details on the data and methodology used to determine school scores, as well as the full ranking for the nation’s Best Online Accounting Degree programs visit:

Two-year schools recognized:

Atlanta Technical College
Baltimore City Community College
Blue Ridge Community College
Central Carolina Community College
Central Georgia Technical College
Chemeketa Community College
Colorado Northwestern Community College
Columbus State Community College
Cowley County Community College
Craven Community College
Dakota College at Bottineau
East Mississippi Community College
Edison State Community College
Fayetteville Technical Community College
Georgia Piedmont Technical College
Haywood Community College
Hinds Community College
Holmes Community College
Hutchinson Community College
Kansas City Kansas Community College
Labette Community College
Lanier Technical College
Laramie County Community College
Lenoir Community College
Lone Star College
Mitchell Community College
Mohave Community College
Montgomery Community College
Moraine Park Technical College
North Hennepin Community College
Northeast Community College
Northwest Mississippi Community College
Norwalk Community College
Pamlico Community College
Pitt Community College
Rio Salado College
Shoreline Community College
Southeast Technical Institute
Southwest Virginia Community College
Stanly Community College
Stark State College
State Fair Community College
Surry Community College
Tillamook Bay Community College
Trinity Valley Community College
Tulsa Community College
Wayne Community College
Western Nebraska Community College
Western Wyoming Community College
Wiregrass Georgia Technical College

Four-year schools recognized:

Auburn University
Aurora University
Baker College
Belhaven University
Bellevue University
Brenau University
Brescia University
Cleary University
Colorado Christian University
Columbia College
Concordia University - Saint Paul
Dakota State University
Dallas Baptist University
Davenport University
Dickinson State University
East Carolina University
Florida Atlantic University
Franklin University
Hawaii Pacific University
Huntington University
Indiana State University
Indiana Wesleyan University
Keiser University - Fort Lauderdale
Kent State University at Kent
Keystone College
Lakeland College
Liberty University
Madonna University
Missouri State University - Springfield
Morehead State University
National University
Northern Arizona University
Northern State University
Northwestern Oklahoma State University
Northwood University - Michigan
Old Dominion University
Saint Leo University
Thomas Edison State College
Tiffin University
University of Alabama at Birmingham
University of Charleston
University of Houston - Downtown
University of Houston - Victoria
University of Louisiana at Monroe
University of Maryland - University College
University of Massachusetts - Amherst
University of Michigan - Flint
University of Minnesota - Crookston
University of the Southwest
Western Governors University

### began in 2011 to provide quality data and information about pursuing an affordable higher education. Our free community resource materials and tools span topics such as financial aid and college savings, opportunities for veterans and people with disabilities, and online learning resources. We feature higher education institutions that have developed online learning environments that include highly trained faculty, new technology and resources, and online support services to help students achieve educational and career success. We have been featured by nearly 1,100 postsecondary institutions and nearly 120 government organizations.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Ryan Kelly
since: 03/2013
Follow >
Affordable Colleges Online
Like >
Visit website