Kumar Parakala named International Professional of Year at Digital Disruptors Awards

Share Article

SEARCC and ACS announced Digital Disruptors Awards last week in Sydney. Technova's Kumar Parakala was named the International Professional of the Year.

Kumar Parakala's acceptance speech

Kumar Parakala accepting the award

The Digital Disruptors Awards turn spotlight on the very best that Australia and Asia-Pacific region has to offer. More than 1000 industry, business and political leaders gathered to recognize outstanding achievement

SEARCC announced Kumar Parakala as the International Digital and ICT Professional of the Year at the Digital Disruptor Awards hosted by ACS, the peak professional body at The Star in Sydney. The South East Asian Regional Computer Confederation (SEARCC) is a forum of national Information Technology professional societies in the Asia Pacific.The region comprises of more than 27 countries. Kumar Parakala is the co-founder and managing director of Technova, and a former senior partner of KPMG. More than 1000 industry, business and political leaders including ministers, CEOs, entrepreneurs, heads of professional and industry bodies, and many international delegates attended the Reimagination'16 Summit and Awards Ceremony.

SEARCC president, Dr Nick Tate, announced the winners of awards on behalf of SEARCC member societies and the executive council, with Kumar Parakala and Beau Tydd taking the top honors in the Professional of the Year category. “We are delighted to honor the achievements of top professionals in the Asia-Pacific region. The distinguished judging panel received more than 100 nominations of highly successful business and academic leaders from the region,” said Yohan Ramasundara, SEARCC secretary-general. “Our congratulations to Kumar Parakala for winning the International Digital and ICT Professional of the Year 2016 in recognition of his outstanding contributions to private and public sectors as a thought leader and trusted adviser.”

“At the ACS and SEARCC Digital Disruptors Awards, we celebrate the remarkable accomplishments of some of the most talented innovators, entrepreneurs and industry leaders,” said Professor Michael Blumenstein of University of Technology, Sydney. “We are very pleased that Kumar’s distinguished contributions gained recognition through the prestigious International Digital and ICT Professional of the Year award.”

ACS CEO, Andrew Johnson added “Kumar has been an outstanding leader and champion of the ICT profession for over 20 years. A contribution previously recognized by ACS with the award of Fellow and Honorary Life Member. This contribution has extended well beyond Australia, and it is befitting that Kumar’s commitment across Asia-Pacific has been recognized by SEARCC.”

“I am greatly humbled and privileged to be receiving this award. I would like to offer my sincere gratitude to those who have nominated me, as well as SEARCC and ACS. It demonstrates the tremendous goodwill, support and friendship of many who have enabled my professional success over the last two decades,” said Kumar in his acceptance speech. He added, “The digital revolution is profoundly changing the way people work and live with huge social, economic, political and cultural implications. We are all embarking on a very exciting journey.”

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Kate Davis
+61 283720071
Email >
since: 05/2016
Follow >
since: 12/2016
Like >

Visit website