REELZ Premieres New Original Series "MovieStyle with Michael O'Connor"

Premiere Episode Focused on 1940s Movie Style; Series Premieres Saturday, September 15, 2012 at 9:30pm ET/ 6:30pm PT

  • Share on TwitterShare on FacebookShare on Google+Share on LinkedInEmail a friend
Brilliant costume design helps to create the mood and atmosphere of all great films as the styles can transport us to other eras and distant lands of our favorite movies.

Albuquerque, NM (PRWEB) August 30, 2012

REELZCHANNEL-TV About Movies® today announced the premiere of the new original series MovieStyle, hosted by New York based fashion and jewelry expert, Michael O’Connor. MovieStyle is the first television show of its kind to look at how influential styles in the movies ranging from the iconic to the decadent, from the contemporary to the revolutionary, become the trends we see in pop culture. MovieStyle with Michael O’Connor premieres Saturday, September 15, 2012 at 9:30pm ET/ 6:30pm PT.

In MovieStyle’s premiere episode, O’Connor takes viewers on a journey through WWII-era movie fashion trends and highlights the Hollywood starlets who embodied the classic looks, including Bette Davis, Rita Hayworth and Joan Crawford. This episode features interviews from Karyn Wagner, Costume Designer for The Notebook, Leonard Maltin, film historian and movie expert, Kevin Jones, Costume Historian at FIDM and Sam Saboura, celebrity stylist and fashion expert who discuss and compare contemporary costume design in movies that are set in the 1940s, including The Notebook, Pearl Harbor and The English Patient. O’Connor also goes behind the scenes on the set of the REELZ new original drama series Bomb Girls to discuss the origins and cultural significance of WWII fashion.

“Brilliant costume design helps to create the mood and atmosphere of all great films as the styles can transport us to other eras and distant lands of our favorite movies,” said Lisa Lucas, Executive Producer of REELZ Original Programming. “Michael O’Connor’s passion for fashion, past and present, combined with his love of cinema, could not be better suited to host our viewers’ journey through the fascinating world of movie style.”

MovieStyle host Michael O’Connor is one of America’s leading style voices, drawing from a career in luxury, fashion and jewelry industries for more than 25 years. O’Connor works with numerous top celebrities and celebrity stylists helping them to accessorize for awards shows, appearances and premieres. Additionally, he’s hosted live coverage from the Academy Awards® and Emmy Awards® red carpets for REELZ and Reuters International Television among others. He also hosts REELZ “Fashion Friday” segments and is a panelist on the network’s Fashion Fanatics post-awards show style critiques.

Encore Presentations for MovieStyle with Michael O’Connor:
-Saturday, September 15
                 1am ET/ 10pm PT

-Sunday, September 16
                9am ET/ 6am PT
        11:30am ET/ 8:30am PT
        6:30pm ET/ 3:30pm PT

-Monday, September 17
     8am ET/ 5am PT
     2:30am ET/ 11:30pm PT

-Tuesday, September 18
     7am ET / 4am PT
     3:30am ET/ 12:30am PT

-Wednesday, September 19
     11am ET/ 8am PT

-Thursday, September 20
     12am ET/ 9pm PT

About REELZCHANNEL
REELZCHANNEL—TV About Movies® is the only cable and satellite network devoted to delivering entertaining and informative programming that is all about movies, including the celebrities, fashion, music and stories behind the stories. The network is also home to ambitious television events, mini-series and series featuring big stories and big stars as seen with the Emmy®-winning The Kennedys and coming in October 2012 with Ken Follett’s eight-part mini-series World Without End. With shows featuring movie and entertainment experts, including Leonard Maltin, Richard Roeper and Sam Rubin, viewers get trusted insight into movies wherever they’re playing, whether in theaters or at home.

REELZCHANNEL reaches more than 64 million homes on DIRECTV channel 238, Dish Network channel 299, Verizon FiOS TV channel 233, AT&T U-verse channels 799/1799HD and cable systems nationwide. Find REELZCHANNEL in your area by entering your zip code at http://www.reelz.com/watch. Owned by Hubbard Media Group, REELZCHANNEL is headquartered in Albuquerque, NM with national ad sales based out of New York City with offices in Boston, Chicago and Los Angeles and an entertainment bureau in Los Angeles.
For more information, please contact the REELZCHANNEL Media Line

877- REELZTV (733-5988) / pr(at)reelz(dot)com