Nominate Your Innovative Healthcare Company for a 2008 ABBY Award

Share Article

Previous Winners Experience Significant Success

Nominations are still being accepted for the 2008 ABBY Awards, to be presented at the Tenth Annual Innovations in Healthcare℠ Awards and Event, on April 23, 2008, at the Westin South Coast Plaza, in Costa Mesa, California. Hosted by the Adaptive Business Leaders (ABL) Organization, this event will honor innovative developers of medical, health information and telecommunications technologies, as well as healthcare providers applying an innovative approach to reducing the cost of quality care.

Previous ABBY Award winners have achieved significant success. For example, 2006 ABBY winner Health Hero Network announced earlier this week its acquisition by the Bosch Group. In October of this year, ev3, Inc., a 2007 ABBY winner, acquired FoxHollow Technologies, a 2005 ABBY winner. Care Level Management, a 2005 ABBY Award winner, was awarded a three-year pilot project from CMS, in September 2005, for its Personal Visiting Physician (house calls) program; 11 months later, CMS added 13,600 chronically ill beneficiaries to the ongoing project. Aperio Technologies, a 2004 ABBY winner, raised $17 million of financing in 2005 and another $10.6 million this year, for a total of $33 million in equity capital. Loren Shook, CEO of Silverado Senior Living, another 2004 ABBY winner, won the Orange County Entrepreneur of the Year Award from Ernst & Young in 2005. A complete list of all ABBY Award winners is included at the end of this release.

This year's ABBYs will recognize the solutions to significant medical or healthcare administrative problems with proven approaches that have achieved quantifiable, cost-saving and quality-improving results in three categories: Innovations in Medical/Bio-Technology; Innovations in Healthcare Information and Telecommunications Technology; and Innovative Approaches to the Delivery of Healthcare.

To qualify for consideration, nominated companies or divisions must have a product, service or application of technology that is currently in the marketplace, or an innovative approach to the delivery of healthcare with proven success metrics, that is lowering the cost of quality care. All nominations must be submitted by Friday, January 11, 2008 to the ABL Organization via the Nomination Form accessible from ABL’s Home Page at . Nominated companies must have the concurrence of the company’s CEO (or division head) and this person must be available to present their organization's ''innovation in healthcare'' in person at the April 23, 2008 Innovation in Healthcare℠ Awards Event.

All qualifying nominees will have the opportunity to exhibit their innovation during the Innovation in Healthcare℠ event’s strolling luncheon, breaks and reception. Previously nominated companies and/or divisions are encouraged to resubmit their nomination, as long as they have not previously won an ABBY nor been an ABBY Finalist in the past two years. Nominations will be reviewed in January by ABL's Innovations’ Finalist Selection Committee, from which nine will be chosen as Finalists to present at the April 23 Innovations In Healthcare℠ Awards and Event Ceremony. Event attendees will then vote to determine the winners of the 2008 ABBY Awards.

Attendance at the Tenth Annual Innovations in Healthcare℠ Awards Event is open to all ABL Members, as well as senior executives of healthcare providers, therapeutic, diagnostic, medical device and healthcare information and services firms. For more information about Innovations In Healthcare℠ and/or the ABL Organization, please contact Winnie Tse or Laura Grant at ABL at (714) 245-2400 or visit the website at

About the Adaptive Business Leaders Organization:
In 2008, ABL is celebrating its 25th year of helping health and technology leaders grow great companies through its CEO Round Tables and frequent Events. In monthly, confidential, collaborative forums, ABL Members share with each other proven and innovative approaches to growing their businesses. Members help each other, in these professionally facilitated settings, to capitalize on market trends and opportunities, assuring they are well positioned for both corporate and personal success.

Laura Grant or Winnie Tse, ABL Event Management (714/245-2400) or
Mimi Grant, President (714/245-1425)
Adaptive Business Leaders (ABL) Organization

List of Previous Innovations in Healthcare℠ ABBY Award Winners:

eHealth, Inc.
eV3, Inc., Neurovascular Division
Sutter Health
Steve Burd, CEO of Safeway Inc. – Leadership in Innovation Awardee/Keynoter

BeWell Mobile Technology Inc.
Gen-Probe, Inc.
Health Hero Network, Inc.
Kaiser Permanente
Ken Kizer, M.D., Under Secretary for Health, U.S. Dept. of Veterans Affairs (1994 – 1999) – Leadership in Innovation Awardee/Keynoter

FoxHollow Technologies
Care Level Management
Kent Thiry, CEO, DaVita Inc.. – Leadership in Innovation Awardee/Keynoter

WorkWell Systems, Inc.
Aperio Technologies, Inc.
Silverado Senior Living Center & InTouch Health
Leonard Schaeffer, CEO, WellPoint Health Networks, Inc. – Leadership in Innovation Awardee/Keynoter

Masimo Corporation
Diversa Corporation
IPC - The Hospitalist Company

Advanced Tissue Sciences
Vocera & ePocrates

Santa Clara Family Health Plan
InSight Health Services Corporation

Inhale Therapeutics
TriZetto Group

Memorial Health Services
Blue Shield of California
OptiScan Biomedical


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Laura Grant

Mimi Grant

Email >
Visit website