LetsGoExpo.com to Provide Webcast of ICCHP Accessible Computing Conference in Linz, Austria

Share Article

The 10th Annual International Conference on Computers Helping People with Special Needs (ICCHP) announced today that it has entered into a webcast partnership with LetsGoExpo (http://www.letsgoexpo.com) for the July 12-14, 2006 conference held in Linz Austria. The webcast will be free to attendees thanks to LetsGoExpo’s support of the event. Keynote sessions will be video webcast, (archives of video presentations will be captioned) with other sessions being webcast with live audio and visual media.

The 10th Annual International Conference on Computers Helping People with Special Needs (ICCHP) announced today that it has entered into a webcast partnership with LetsGoExpo (http://www.letsgoexpo.com) for the July 12-14, 2006 conference held in Linz, Austria. The webcast will be free to attendees thanks to LetsGoExpo’s support of the event. Keynote sessions will be video webcast, (archives of video presentations will be captioned) with other sessions being webcast with live audio and visual media.

Since its beginning, the ICCHP has offered an international platform for visionary researchers and practitioners in “e-Inclusion.” ICCHP’06 once again assembles experts from around the world to exchange ideas, discuss common approaches and develop interdisciplinary programs to contribute to present and future challenges. The conference will explore Information & Communication Technology (ICT) and Assistive Technology (AT) for people with disabilities, the aging population, and with learning difficulties. “We’re thrilled with our relationship with LetsGoExpo, and the ability to share our conference proceedings worldwide. The live webcasts as well as recorded archives make the conference both a global event and an ongoing resource for those interested in accessibility,” states Klaus Miesenberger, chair of the conference.

“LetsGoExpo was created to allow organizers of “on-location” conferences to expand their reach to the online visitor, or to be a feature-rich venue for online meetings or events,” said Dr. Lou Lipschultz, CEO of LetsGoExpo’s parent, OcuSource.com. “We couldn’t think of a better venue to showcase the strengths of our online conferencing service than the ICCHP’s conference on accessible computing,” Lipschultz stated.

General Sessions will be webcast live and can be accessed through links at the LetsGoExpo’s Event Calendar page (http://letsgoexpo.com/index.cfm?p=2) or at the ICCHP website (http://www.icchp.org). The accompanying slide presentations, transcriptions, and support documents will also be available. Archives of the webcasts will be made available following the meeting at http://www.letsgoexpo.com under the same Event Calendar, and then following the links to the ICCHP event schedule.

ICCHP webcast start times:

Wednesday, July 12 - webcasts begin:

--Austria Time - 9:00 AM

--GMT - 7:00 AM

--EST - 1:00 AM

--PST - 10:00 PM

Thursday, July 13th - webcasts begin:

--Austria Time – 8:30 AM

--GMT – 6:30 AM

--EST - 12:30 AM

--PST - 9:30 PM

Friday, July 14th - webcasts begin:

--Austria Time – 8:30 AM

--GMT – 6:30 AM

--EST - 12:30 AM

--PST - 9:30 PM

About OcuSource & LetsGoExpo

California-based OcuSource, LLC (http://www.ocusource.com), the parent company of LetsGoExpo (http://www.letsgoexpo.com) assists the low vision and blindness industry with essential online services. OcuSource’s mission is to expand access to products, information, and services to individuals with vision impairment as well as the professionals who assist them through a set of integrated web services. OcuSource maintains product and information search tools, auctions for used low vision and blindness equipment, bid management services for organizations, and self-assessment tools such as visual acuity tracking. The privately held company was founded in 2003 and is headquartered in Placentia, California.

About ICCHP

From the early ages of assistive devices, the field has grown and established itself, and is now known as Assistive Technologies or “eInclusion”. eInclusion has become a major driving force for an open information society. If the 21st century is the first of the "information or knowledge age," eQuality has to be seen as one of its fundamental human rights. The equation "equality = eQuality", the motto of ICCHP 06, symbolizes how much equal access and therefore equal chances in society are dependent on eQuality, the quality of systems and services in taking the needs of all users into account including those with disabilities.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Lou Lipschultz, Od
Visit website