AIAG Honored for Advancing Radio-Frequency Identification Standards

Share Article

AIM Global Presents Ted Williams Award to AIAG for Advancing Radio-Frequency Identification Standards

AIAG, a not-for-profit, member-driven organization that works with a wide range of manufacturing companies and service providers to help them operate at peak performance, is the recipient of the 2010 Association for Automatic Identification and Mobility (AIM) Ted Williams Award, which recognizes global leadership in the area of radio-frequency identification (RFID) standards development and education. AIAG’s RFID work group is responsible for the RFID B-11 document, which is the automotive industry standard in North America. AIAG also is leading B-11’s ongoing development and refinement, with the goal of establishing it as the global ISO standard for tracking items throughout a supply chain. Michelin North America, which is an active member of AIAG, nominated the work group for the award.

“This award showcases the power that AIAG and our members have when they work collaboratively on solving automotive industry problems,” said J. Scot Sharland, executive director of AIAG. “The RFID B-11 has become a tracking standard in the industry, which could not have happened without the hard work and support of AIAG members and volunteers.”

The Ted Williams Award was created in honor of Ted Williams, an industry innovator, collaborator, and long time member of the AIM Global Technical Symbology Committee. The award is given in recognition of innovative and exceptional contributions that further growth and developments in the Automotive Identification and Mobility Industry. The recipient is nominated by the AIM Global membership and selected by a vote of the AIM Board of Directors.

AIAG is also a member of the Joint Automotive Industry Forum (JAIF), which recently released RFID guidelines for returnable transport items (RTIs), such as containers, pallets and other reusable assets used to transport parts and assemblies through the automotive supply chain. Other JAIF members include Europe's Odette International Ltd., the Japan Automotive Manufacturers Association and the Japan Auto Parts Industries Association.

About AIAG
AIAG was founded in 1982 by General Motors, Ford Motor Company and Chrysler Corp. to develop and share best practices to create a leaner, more efficient supply base. Since then, AIAG has grown and evolved to address increasingly complex global supply-chain, manufacturing and quality issues, and now has tools and processes that can help diverse industries improve their performance by protecting and enhancing corporate reputations, rooting out waste and inefficiency, uncovering cost savings and improving quality.

Lorrie Kinney

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Lorrie Kinney
Email >
Visit website