If you are intoxicated, don't get behind the wheel of your car. Call a taxi, designate a sober driver, use public transportation or call a friend or relative for a ride home.
Austin, Texas (PRWEB) August 19, 2010 –
Austin criminal defense attorney Trey Collins says Texas motorists should drive safe and sober during the upcoming Labor Day weekend.
Those who drive while impaired by drugs or alcohol endanger the safety of themselves and others, and they face potentially stiff criminal consequences, says Collins, whose law firm, Minton, Burton Foster and Collins, P.C. (MBFC) represents drivers arrested on DWI/DUI charges in Austin and its surrounding communities.
“Not everyone who is arrested for DWI or DUI is guilty of the charged offense, and quite often, there are flaws in the administration of breathalyzer and field sobriety tests,” Collins says. “However, if you are convicted, you face possible jail time, a suspension of your driver’s license, significant fines and an increase in your insurance premiums.
“That’s why it’s important to stay safe and sober on the roads during the upcoming Labor Day holiday. If you drive while intoxicated, you’re a danger to yourself and everyone else on the road.”
Collins reminds Texas motorists that the state’s law enforcement officials will boost their efforts to catch and arrest suspected drunk drivers during an upcoming two-week crackdown. The initiative starts August 20 and lasts through September 6.
A year ago, Texas police officers and sheriff’s deputies logged more than 18,000 combined overtime hours during a two-week drunk-driving crackdown near the Labor Day holiday, according to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT).
In Texas, the legal limit for intoxication is 0.08 BAC (blood alcohol concentration).
If convicted of DWI (driving while intoxicated), a first-time offender faces up to 180 days in jail, a $2,000 fine and loss of their driver’s license for up to one year. A person with two or more DWI convictions in five years must install a special ignition switch that prevents their vehicle from being operated if the driver has been drinking.
Minors can be charged with DUI (driving under the influence) for having any trace of beer, wine or liquor in their system. A first-time offender faces up to a $500 fine, 40 hours of community service, mandatory alcohol awareness classes and loss of their license for up to 60 days. Minors can also face DWI charges.
“The stakes are very high,” Collins says. “In the event you are arrested for suspected drunk driving, it is important to work with experienced legal counsel in order to defend yourself and protect your rights.”
Drunk driving carries consequences greater than jail time or fines, Collins says, citing TxDOT statistics. In 2009, there were 27,108 alcohol-related crashes in Texas, causing 955 deaths and 17,542 injuries.
“If you are intoxicated, don’t get behind the wheel of your car,” Collins says. “Call a taxi, designate a sober driver, use public transportation or call a friend or relative for a ride home.”
About Minton, Burton, Foster and Collins, P.C.
The Austin, Texas law firm of Minton, Burton, Foster and Collins, P.C. (MBFC), has helped Texas individuals and businesses with their legal issues since 1963. The firm practices criminal defense in state and federal courts in felony and misdemeanor cases, including DWI/DUI charges, drug offenses, sexual offenses, computer crimes and juvenile crimes. The firm’s practice areas also include family law, personal injury and civil litigation. MBFC represents clients in civil and criminal matters in Austin, Travis, Williamson, Hays, Bastrop, Caldwell, Burnet and Comal counties. To learn more, call (512) 476-4873 or contact the firm online.