Sue Burnett Honored as Texas Business Woman of the Year

Share Article

The Texas Women’s Chamber of Commerce annually honors one Texas woman who exemplifies awe-inspiring leadership, success, community service, and support of other women. This year's award went to Sue Burnett.

Sue Burnett with the TBOY finalists

Arcilia Acosta, Sue Burnett and Kendra Scott

“I am very happy to win this award, since it also honors all of our staff members who made our company successful. It was definitely a team effort and I am proud to be their leader.” - Sue Burnett

Sue Burnett, President of Burnett Specialists, Choice Staffing and Service Center Solutions, was named the Texas Business Women of the Year by the Texas Women’s Chamber of Commerce at a luncheon in Austin on October 2. Sue is one of only two Houstonians to win this award, which honors Texas women who exemplify awe-inspiring leadership, success, community service, and support of other women.

Sue Burnett was chosen because she has led her industry for more than 40 years. From an initial staff of six in 1974, operating on a $10,000 loan, Sue has spearheaded her company to a statewide, multi-million-dollar enterprise employing nearly 300 in six Texas cities, plus thousands of temporary staffing employees and direct hire placement candidates. Her company ranks as the largest-employee-owned staffing and placement firm and the 6th largest woman-owned business in Texas with projected 2012 revenue of $79 million.

Sue was the initiator of “The Best Places to Work” awards in Austin, Dallas, Houston and San Antonio, in conjunction with the Business Journals. She has served on the boards and committees of community and charitable organizations, including Goodwill Industries, Arthritis Foundation, Better Business Bureau, Jr. Achievement, and the American Staffing Association. Additionally, she invests her time into mentoring other women business owners.

During her distinguished career, she has received virtually every tribute including NAWBO’s Woman Business Owner of the Year, Ernst & Young’s Entrepreneur of the Year, WBEA’s Woman Business Entrepreneur of the Year, Inspire Women’s Business Woman of the Year, YWCA’s Outstanding Woman of Business, and the Houston Business Journal’s Top Woman-Owned Business.

This year’s TBOY finalists were Kendra Scott, Kendra Scott Design, and Arcilia Acosta, Carcon Industries and STL Engineers. Past TBOY recipients of the Texas Business Women of the Year award include Southwest Airlines President Colleen Barrett, Shell Oil Past President and CEO Lynn Elsenhans, Curves International Founder Diane Heavin, Tuesday Morning President CEO Kathleen Mason and One Minute Manicure Founder and CEO Rosie Herman.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Eva Newsom

Email >
Visit website