CMSA Presents 2012 National Case Management Awards at Annual Conference & Expo

Share Article

Inaugural Case Management Advocate Award presented, along with Case Manager of the Year Award, Award of Service Excellence, Case Management Practice Improvement Award, Case Management Research Award and Chapter Excellence & Innovation Awards

At the Case Management Society of America’s (CMSA) 22nd Conference & Expo in San Francisco, CA, the professional Association presented its national awards to both individual and chapter recipients. The 22nd Anniversary Awards Event was held June 21st, 2012 at Moscone West Convention Center.

Individual Awards
The first recipient of the Case Management Advocate Award is Garry Carneal, JD, MA, a longtime supporter of case management and of CMSA. Carneal is the Founder of Schooner Healthcare Services and currently serves as the President and CEO of RadSite located in Annapolis, MD. He has worked with CMSA for over 15 years as a key author and developer on projects including URAC’s inaugural Case Management Accreditation Program, the Case Load Capacity Calculator, the Health Information Technology Survey, CMSA’s Case Management Model Act and the book Case Management Trends: An Overview of Recent Industry and Regulatory Developments. Carneal currently serves on CMSA Today’s editorial board and writes the legal and regulatory column for this publication.

CMSA’s Case Manager of the Year Award recipient is Laura Ostrowsky, RN, MUP, CCM of Pelham, NY. The Director of Case Management for Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York, NY, she is known for spearheading the successful Patient Care Advocacy Program, an oncology specialty program designed to preempt denials and secure out-of-network care for patients. Ostrowsky currently serves on the CMSA NYC’s Board of Directors and is Chair of the Education Committee; also, she has been a committee member of the Greater New York Hospital Association since 1991, and a task force member at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center since 2000.

The recipient of the 2012 Award of Service Excellence is Barbara Mackey-Zeigler, RN, BSN, CCM of Mason, OH. A Case Manager at WellPoint/Anthem Blue Cross Blue Shield, Mackey-Zeigler provides telephonic services to clients with complex care needs in the Geriatric Medicare population. She is an active contributor and leader within the CMSA community, currently serving as both Secretary and Public Policy Liaison of the Southern Ohio Valley Chapter of CMSA. Mackey-Zeigler is a 4-time poster presenter at CMSA’s Annual Conference and uses CMSA’s Standards of Practice as a guide in continuing to provide the highest level of patient care.

Practice Improvement & Research Awards
The Awards for Case Management Practice Improvement and Case Management Research recognize an individual, group or organization that uses findings from a research or quality/performance improvement (QI/PI) project for innovation in the advancement of case management practice and/or improved client outcomes. This year’s award recipients are:

  • Case Management Practice Improvement Award: VA Connecticut Health System, accepted by Donna Vogel, MSN, CCM.

CM and a Web-Based Tracking System for Cancer Care Improved Access & Quality Care is an initiative resulting from a collaborative team effort to improve care coordination and case management for Veterans diagnosed with cancer. System redesign included: improving the coding and follow-up of suspicious radiology images; hiring a cancer care coordinator; implementing pulmonary and liver tumor boards; and developing a web based Cancer Care Tracking System (CCTS) to identify abnormal radiology findings pulled from the EPR, navigate and track patients from diagnosis to treatment, and provided ongoing monitoring and surveillance. The CCTS improves detection, decreases the risk of patients being lost to follow-up due to human error, and improves provider efficiency.

  • Case Management Research Award: Hudson Health Plan, accepted by Margaret Leonard, MS, RN-BC, FNP.

Operation: We Care (Westchester Cares Action Program) is a coordinated care initiative which used a personalized, hands-on approach to provide treatment, improve care and reduce care costs for a high-cost Medicaid population in Westchester County, NY. The 3-year program resulted in enhanced care for 250 patients.

Chapter Excellence & Innovation Awards
The CMSA Chapter Excellence and Innovation Awards recognize chapters that embody the CMSA Mission: to promote the growth & value of case management and to support the evolving needs of the case management professional. This year’s chapter recipients are:

  •         Conference Planning: Kansas City Chapter of CMSA
  •         Membership Development: CMSA NYC
  •         Technology: Long Island Chapter of the Case Management Society of America
  •         Educational Programming: Alamo Chapter-Case Management Society of America
  •         Print & Publishing: Case Management Association of Las Vegas
  •         Public Policy & Advocacy: Case Management Society of New England

For information about CMSA’s Awards, visit

About the Case Management Society of America (CMSA)
Established in 1990, the Case Management Society of America is the leading non-profit association dedicated to the support and development of the profession of case management. CMSA serves more than 10,500 members, 15,000 subscribers, and 75 chapters through educational forums, networking opportunities, legislative advocacy and establishing standards to advance the profession. For more information, visit or follow CMSA on Twitter @CMSANational.

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Brianne Baird
Follow us on
Visit website