2009 Liberty Mutual Coach Of The Year Finalists Celebrated In Videos About College Football Coaches Starring On The Sidelines And In Communities

Share Article

Fans Help Control Final Result by Voting at http://www.CoachoftheYear.com December 15-29; Liberty Mutual to Award Each Winner $50,000 for Charity and $20,000 for Scholarship

News Image
“These 25 finalists embody the spirit of the sport by inspiring greatness in their athletes and in their communities.”

The 25 finalists for the 2009 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award are examples of the positive influence a college football coach can have on his players, his university, and his community. And Liberty Mutual Insurance is treating college football fans to 25 videos at CoachoftheYear.com that individually highlight each finalist and showcase their on- and off-field accomplishments and contributions.

"These videos highlight the true values celebrated by the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award, clearly that college football is about so much more than just winning games," said Archie Manning, Chairman of the National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame, which helped create the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award in 2006. "These 25 finalists embody the spirit of the sport by inspiring greatness in their athletes and in their communities."

The finalists were determined by the result of online fan votes at CoachoftheYear.com and an objective scoring model endorsed by the College Football Hall of Fame. Each coach had to place in the top 15 in fan votes in his division to qualify for participation in the model competition, which considers, among other criteria, wins, team penalties, on-field sportsmanship, academic achievement by the student-athletes, and civic and philanthropic endeavors.

2009 Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Finalists (listed in alphabetical order):

Football Bowl Subdivision:
Mack Brown, University of Texas
Pete Carroll, University of Southern California
Kirk Ferentz, University of Iowa
Al Golden, Temple University
Paul Johnson, Georgia Institute of Technology
Brian Kelly, University of Cincinnati
Joe Paterno, Penn State University
Gary Patterson, Texas Christian University
Nick Saban, University of Alabama
Dabo Swinney, Clemson University

Football Championship Subdivision:
Tom Gilmore, College of the Holy Cross
Jerry Moore, Appalachian State University
Danny Rocco, Liberty University
Bob Spoo, Eastern Illinois University
John Stiegelmeier, South Dakota State University

Division II:
Bo Atterberry, Texas A&M University - Kingsville
Danny Hale, Bloomsburg University
Bill Maskill, Midwestern State University
Bob Nielson, University of Minnesota - Duluth
Mel Tjeerdsma, Northwest Missouri State University

Division III:
Steve Briggs, Susquehanna University
Greg Debeljak, Case Western Reserve University
John Gagliardi, Saint John's University
Steve Staker, Coe College
John Troxell, Franklin & Marshall College

Now in its fourth year, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year program recognizes college football coaches across the nation who demonstrate sportsmanship, integrity, responsibility and excellence on and off the field. Unique to the honor is the $50,000 that Liberty Mutual awards each winning coach to support his charitable endeavors, and an additional $20,000 each to foster scholarship through his school's alumni association. After this season, the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award winners collectively will have donated nearly $1 million toward charity and scholarship.

To see how previous Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award winners, including Alabama's Nick Saban (2008), Northern Illinois' Jerry Kill(2007) and Pittsburg State's Chuck Broyles(2008), have used their Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award winnings to build homes in local communities, support children in need and fight terminal diseases, fans can also watch a "Pass It On" video narrated by ESPN's Kirk Herbstreit at coachoftheyear.com.

Supporting a Finalist

College football fans have a significant voice in the outcome of the Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Award. Now through December 29, fans can visit CoachoftheYear.com and use the online fan voting feature to cast their votes daily. Fan votes will constitute 20 percent of a coach's final score.

Fans also can support their favorite finalist on the new Liberty Mutual Coach of the Year Facebook Fan Page. Plus, they can encourage their friends to vote by personalizing a "SuperFan" viral video featuring Kirk Herbstreit that they can send via Facebook or the website.

To ensure candidates are evaluated fairly and measured against the specific values of responsibility and integrity, selection committees of College Football Hall of Fame players and coaches - including Archie Manning, Lou Holtz, Vince Dooley, Ronnie Lott, and Jerry Rice - and the national college football media will also cast votes for the winners. Hall of Fame and media votes account for 55 percent and 25 percent, respectively.

The winners will be announced January 6, 2010, in Los Angeles, in advance of the BCS Championship Game.

About Liberty Mutual Group
"Helping people live safer, more secure lives" since 1912, Boston-based Liberty Mutual Group (LibertyMutualGroup.com) is a diversified global insurer and fifth-largest property and casualty insurer in the U.S. based on 2008 direct written premium. Liberty Mutual Group ranks 86th on the Fortune 500 list of largest U.S. corporations, based on 2008 revenue. The company has over 45,000 employees located in more than 900 offices throughout the world.

The eighth-largest auto and home insurer in the U.S., Liberty Mutual (libertymutual.com) sells full lines of coverage for automobile, homeowners, valuable possessions, personal liability, and individual life insurance. The company is an industry leader in affinity partnerships, offering car and home insurance to employees and members of more than 12,000 companies, credit unions, professional associations and alumni groups.

About the National Football Foundation & the College Football Hall of Fame
Founded in 1947 with leadership from General Douglas MacArthur, legendary Army coach Earl "Red" Blaik and immortal journalist Grantland Rice, The National Football Foundation & College Football Hall of Fame, a non-profit educational organization, runs programs designed to use the power of amateur football in developing scholarship, citizenship and athletic achievement in young people. With 121 chapters and 12,000 members nationwide, NFF programs include the College Football Hall of Fame in South Bend, Ind., the NFF Hampshire Honor Society, Play It Smart, the NFF-FWAA Football Forum, the NFF Gridiron Club of New York City, and scholarships of over $1 million for college and high school scholar-athletes. The NFF presents the MacArthur Trophy, the Draddy Trophy, presented by HealthSouth, and releases the Bowl Championship Series (BCS) Standings. Learn more at FootballFoundation.org or CollegeFootball.org.

# # #

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Glenn Greenberg
Visit website