Dave's Garden Launches Bird Identification Database

Share Article

Dave's Garden launches BirdFiles, a bird identification database loaded with pictures of birds, commentary from bird watchers, and bird sighting reports.

Many of our members love to attract birds to their backyard habitat, and they want to learn more about them

Dave's Garden, the largest online community of gardeners, has added a new feature to its lineup. In the tradition of Dave's Garden's PlantFiles and BugFiles, where members catalog plants, insects and spiders, comes BirdFiles. This new feature was created at the request of Dave's Garden members and its debut has spurred a flurry of activity as members add photos, comments and sighting reports.

Bird watching is a fast-growing hobby and multi-million dollar industry. According to the U.S. Fish & Wildlife Service, this outdoor pursuit is enjoyed by over 47 million Americans, and the wildlife and bird-related forums at Dave's Garden are longtime favorites among the 400,000-plus members.

"Many of our members love to attract birds to their backyard habitat, and they want to learn more about them," says Dave Whitinger, founder and webmaster for Dave's Garden. "Creating BirdFiles was the obvious move in helping our members share what they know and network with other backyard birding enthusiasts. Our only surprise was just how many members quickly gravitated to this feature. My children love the feature!"

In addition to BirdFiles, Dave's Garden offers birdwatchers several forums for bird identification and discussion of their habitats, along with resources for birders looking for bird feeders and food, nest boxes, and numerous books on attracting birds and wildlife to the garden.

The proliferation of thousands of high-quality bird images has already led to a new option on the Dave's Garden home page: randomly selected bird images now appear and change every ten minutes.

ABOUT DAVES GARDEN - Dave's Garden is the largest community site on the web for friendly and knowledgeable gardeners to research the latest gardening techniques and products, share their expertise, and interact with others who share an enthusiasm for gardening.

Davesgarden.com is a subsidiary of NameMedia, the owner and publisher of many of the largest and most active enthusiast community sites on the web, including sites focused on photography, gardening, crafting, stamping, astrology, automotive, rock climbing and sky-diving.

Headquartered outside Boston in Waltham, Massachusetts, more information is available at http://www.namemedia.com.

###

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Dave Whitinger
Visit website