FieldTurf Announces its 2009 FieldTurf Coach and Team of the Year Soccer Awards

Share Article

Award-winners announced at the NSCAA Convention in Philadelphia

FieldTurf announced the winners of its 4th annual FieldTurf Soccer Awards for the 2009 season today at the National Soccer Coaches Association of America (NSCAA) Convention in Philadelphia. Winners were announced in 11 different categories. These awards are based on tabulated votes from FieldTurf executives and a panel consisting of Al Albert, Tonya Antonucci, Durward Williams, Tanya Vogel, Cam Rast, Larry Sunderland, Mike Anhaeuser, and Matt Reis.

This year’s winners are:

  •     MLS Coach of the Year – Jason Kreis, Real Salt Lake
  •     USL Division 1 Coach of the Year – Gavin Wilkinson, Portland Timbers
  •     USL Division 2 Coach of the Year – Leigh Cowlishaw, Richmond Kickers
  •     USL W-League Coach of the Year – Craig Smith, Ottawa Fury
  •     NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Men’s Soccer) - George Gelnovatch, University of Virginia
  •     NCAA Division 1 Coach of the Year (Women’s Soccer) - Paul Ratcliffe, Stanford University
  •     MLS Team of the Year – Seattle Sounders
  •     USL Team of the Year – Montreal Impact
  •     NCAA Team of the Year – Akron University (Men’s)
  •     National High School Team of the Year (Boys) - St. Thomas Aquinas HS (Overland Park, KS)
  •     National High School Team of the Year (Girls) – LaSalle Academy (Providence, RI)

In just his second full season as head coach of RSL, Kreis turned a perennial sub-500 club into MLS champions in 2009. RSL’s magical playoff run as a #8 seed included two penalty kick shootout victories.

Wilkinson guided the Timbers to their first First Division regular-season title since 2004, and in doing so, produced a league record 24-game unbeaten streak during the season. The Timbers have reached the playoffs in two of three seasons under Wilkinson.

Finishing his 10th year at the helm, Cowlishaw has led the Kickers to five USL Finals in eight years, taking the USL-2 title for a second time in 2009. Cowlishaw’s two second-half subs scored late goals to give the Kickers a 3-1 victory over the Charlotte Eagles in the final.

The Smith-led Fury have become a symbol of excellence in women’s soccer, posting an 11-1-2 record in 2009. The second year coach has lost just two regular season games in his first 24 matches.

NCAA DIVISION 1 COACH OF THE YEAR (Men’s) - George Gelnovatch
Gelnovatch captured his first title with Virginia after 14 years as head coach, leading the Cavaliers to their sixth NCAA title and their first in 15 years. The Cavaliers, who were the only team to beat the highly touted Akron Zips, gave up only one goal in their last 13 games.

NCAA DIVISION 1 COACH OF THE YEAR (Women’s) – Paul Ratcliffe    
Ratcliffe guided the Cardinals to their first NCAA title appearance and to one of the most impressive seasons in NCAA women’s soccer history. Ratcliffe’s team posted a 25-0-0 record only to fall 1-0 to 20-time NCAA champion North Carolina in the final.

MLS TEAM OF THE YEAR - Seattle Sounders
The Sounders launched one of the most successful expansion seasons in all of sports. In addition to their 22,000 season ticket holders and an MLS record average attendance of 30,000+, the Sounders advanced to the conference semifinals in their inaugural Major League Soccer season.

USL TEAM OF THE YEAR - Montreal Impact
The Impact celebrated their 3rd USL title by defeating the Vancouver Whitecaps 3-1 (6-3 on aggregate goals) in front of a sellout crowd of 13,034 in Montreal. Despite a 12-11-7 regular season, the Impact dominated the playoffs by going 6-0.

NCAA TEAM OF THE YEAR - Akron University (Men’s)
Despite losing the NCAA final in penalty kicks, the Zips (23-1-1) posted one of the greatest seasons in collegiate soccer history. AU matched the NCAA single-season record for most consecutive wins (23), finished second all-time in shutouts (19) and posted the third-lowest goals against average all-time (0.27).

NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL TEAM OF THE YEAR (Boys) - St. Thomas Aquinas (Overland Park, KS)
Aquinas posted their seventh consecutive boys soccer state title and their 13th overall. Most remarkably, though, this Saints team became the second in the storied history of the program to finish undefeated — a perfect 21-0 for the first time since 1994.

NATIONAL HIGH SCHOOL TEAM OF THE YEAR (Girls) - LaSalle Academy (Providence, RI)
For the second consecutive year, and the seventh time in the past nine years, the LaSalle Academy Girls Soccer team won the state championship. The Lady Rams produced 100 goals and surrendered only seven for the season.

About FieldTurf
FieldTurf offers industry-leading engineering and manufacturing resources and leads the synthetic turf industry with regard to setting higher environmental standards. FieldTurf is the global market leader in terms of synthetic sports fields with more than 3,000 fields installed. Additionally, FieldTurf has attained more than 15,000 satisfied customers in high quality pet, residential, commercial and municipal landscaping solutions, playground surfacing and has a complete range of golf and tennis products. FieldTurf synthetic turf customers enjoy the benefits of significantly reduced water consumption, the elimination of fertilizer and pesticides, superior durability and drainage and a product that looks and feels real. The positive environmental impact of FieldTurf provides the added benefit of LEED building contributions.

FieldTurf is part of Tarkett Sports, a Division of the Tarkett Group. Tarkett Sports is the largest entity in the sports and landscape surfacing industries. Included within the Tarkett Sports portfolio is an impressive range of performance sports flooring products. This product range includes: synthetic and hardwood basketball; volleyball and gymnasium flooring; squash and racquetball courts; floor protection and covering systems; weight room flooring; and high performance indoor and outdoor running tracks, featuring Beynon and Atlas track surfaces. All Tarkett Sports surfaces are developed, produced and installed with a concentration on sustainability and a commitment to protecting the environment, providing additional LEED contribution opportunities for customers. The company calls this focus on sustainability and the environment ‘Environmental Intelligence’ and all company personnel strive to exemplify this philosophy in all aspects of the business.

For more information, please visit FieldTurf Artificial Grass & Synthetic Turf Systems.

Jason Smollett


Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Jason Smollett
Visit website