McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation Awards $247,000 in Grants and Scholarships for the 2008-2009 Academic Year : Seventeen Winners from Nine States to Receive Funding

Share Article

The McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation has announced the 17 winners of $247,000 in grants and scholarships for the 2008-2009 academic year. 354 students and educators from around the country applied this year compared to 70 applicants in 2007. There were 41 applications for Student Teaching/Mentoring Scholarships in the amount of $6,000 each, 102 applicants for Teacher Development Grants in the amount of $10,000 each, and 211 applications for Academic Enrichment Grants also in the amount of $10,000 each. Both the Teacher Development Grants and the Academic Enrichment Grants are renewable for three years depending on eligibility.

News Image

Since 2001 the McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation has made a commitment to provide more than $895,000 in scholarships and grants. Co-founder of the Foundation and Chair of its Board of Trustees Sarah McCarthey commented, "The significant increase in applications this year and the originality, diversity and thoughtfulness of the submissions were very gratifying. The Foundation is pleased to support those individuals and teams of educators who share our commitment to make teaching and learning exciting, innovative and motivating and to ensure that what happens in the classroom contributes to the highest development of each child and mentor and to our society as a whole."

TEACHER DEVELOPMENT GRANT WINNERS include Heather Bruce, Missoula, Montana; Rebecca Cresell, Seattle, Washington; Genevieve Goldstein, Watsonville, California; Walter Lewis, West Valley, Utah; and Jim Smith, Sandia Park, New Mexico. ACADEMIC ENRICHMENT GRANT WINNERS are Brenda Armstrong, Richmond, California; Tanesha Bell, Denver, Colorado; Jennifer Henderson, Holyoke, Massachusetts; Wanda Melton, Laurens, South Carolina; Juan Pommier, Los Angeles, California; and Raymond Veon, Atlanta, Georgia. SCHOLARSHIP RECIPIENTS are Kevin Donoher, New Mexico State University; Chelsea Findlay, West Virginia University; Martha Ann Flores, New Mexico State University; Jonathan Harris, University of California, Santa Cruz; and Kimberly Schneider, West Virginia University.

More information about each of the 2008-2009 winning projects is posted at


The McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation is dedicated to serving students and teachers in developing interests, strategies and skills needed to enhance society. Founders Sarah McCarthey and Mark Dressman, professors at the University of Illinois Champaign, recognize the struggle educators too often face in bringing exceptional teaching to their students. Ever-tightening budgets and skyrocketing technology and supply costs now make it more difficult than ever for educators in all areas—k-12, after school, and advanced study—to introduce new programs and projects to children who need them most. To that end, the McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation awards grants and scholarships to those projects and/or initiatives with significant potential to augment the educational experiences for all children. Application deadline for the McCarthey Dressman Education Foundation grants and scholarships is May 1st of each year. Information and applications can be found online at

Share article on social media or email:

View article via:

Pdf Print

Contact Author

Mary Kay Lazarus
Visit website